Ratings based on 1,185 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, not well maintained. Avoid

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I took Expedia's recommendation and stayed at the Newport Beach Hotel. Mistake. Good location but that's it. Run down, dirty, not well maintained at all. My TV didn't work, the sink was backed up. Don't even ask about the shower.....Stay elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money! Small and outdated!

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We had reserved a king bed but the hotel said they could not honor it due to us booking through expedia. We were given a radiculously small room that had no working ac and a sink that clogged everytime it was used. Hair was found all over the shower from a previous guest. For the price this hotel was conpletely dissapointing. The staff did nothing to try and fix anything. Save your money and stay someplace else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice Hotel very close to beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, updated bathrooms
Cons: a few instances where housekeeping could be improved but overall good enough
Location: across the street from the beach, cliff walks and small aquarium (good for kids). 3 minute drive to Thames St (where all the excitement is)
After refusing to check into a neighboring hotel due to lack of cleanliness this hotel was 100% better and the location was also more ideal (closer to beach, more accommodations).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

close to the beach

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The beach was nice, the rooftop was gorgeous but wish it had more space! The rooms were comfy just needed to be cleaned up a little better. The beds were comfortable. The staff was pleasant. I thought the fact you had to pay for parking was rediculous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clifton Park,NY

Super hotel close to beach,Cliff walk and Neeport

Posted May 26, 2017
Very friendly staff. Rooms modern,clean and nice. Close to beach,cliff walk and Newport. No restaurant in hotel but some good places close by to dine. Short drive to a Market if you are looking to buy some groceries if studying in one of the suites . Beds and pillows extremely comfortable. Hot tub on roof deck with excellent jet propulsion. Enjoy beautiful sunsets while relaxing in hot tub.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newport charm

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and the staff
Cons: Offer breakfast
Location: Location is across the street from the beach and only a few minutes from downtown Newport
Check in went without a hitch. We had a room in the historic building. The room was clean and comfortable. The ceilings were lower than usually seen but realizing it is an old building. There was a slope in the floor but that only added to the charm. Everything was clean. The only complaint was the slow draining tub. There is a restaurant in the hotel but it is not open. It would be nice if the hotel offered at least a continental breakfast. I would stay again and would recommend it
3 out of 5
by Nicole

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
Other being near the beach, it is not near much. Hotel website makes it look much more impressive than it is.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
There was a slight hiccup and we needed a room change. The management took care of us and gave us a different room which remedied our concern. We appreciate the quick service in addressing our needs.
3 out of 5
by Katherine

Under staffed??

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived to check in at 4:00 pm ( our check-in time) and the clerk told us the room was not ready due to 50 checkouts that day. She could not give us an estimated check in time and took our phone number to call us when room would be ready. We had spent the day cycling and were dirty, hungry, and tired. We waited in the "bar " area which was unfortunately closed for the winter still. She told us we would get a discount but couldn't say how much since it depended on how delayed our check in time was. This tells me that they most likely are usually understaffed since they appear to have a policy regarding discounts due to late rooms. This is the first time I ever experienced this. The room was ready at 5:00 and we received 20 percent discount, we would have preferred a prompt check in time since this affected our dinner plans in Newport. We also had a problem with the room key cards not working when we returned from dinner. After two trips down to the front desk it was resolved. The room was fine and the location was convenient. The one and only person at the front desk was polite.
4 out of 5
by lee

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels