Ratings based on 885 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Convenient location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
We were up on the third floor, the room was fine. There are no elevators and the TV wasn’t working along with the free WiFi. It was OK. For staying one night it worked out great since we attended the Newport Seafood Festival. They did offer shuttle service for a nominal $8 for unlimited rides to and from Newport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, NY

Good location

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Location: Close to nearby family restaurants, close to downtown Newport.
Close to downtown Newport, close to restaurants, clean room, very comfortable beds, and room darkening curtains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Overall a good stay, halls were nousey from doors slamming echoing around on the laminate flooring
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No elevator, room not cleaned one day

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Spotlight outside my window on all night, lit up the room. Annoying. Stayed due to reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Overall a great experience! The hotel room's air conditioning was noisy but otherwise a comfortable room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Needs some serious work

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location was good. In-house food was decent. Room was large.
Cons: No breakfast included. Could not get WiFi.
Location: Many things to do in nearby Newport RI and Fall River MA.
Vinyl floor coverings throughout the halls and rooms make for noisy traffic, particularly from the room above. The bathroom fan did not work. Toilet ran after flushing. Upstairs A/C dripped onto our room's unit, making a continual "drip" sound outside our window, but could be heard throughout the room. Terribly noisy when room above ran water. Then upstairs room's bath water started dripping through our ceiling into our bath tub! View out the window to back yard of hotel was a look onto a yard with bags of yard waste and an old water heater on its side. We brought the noise and leaks to the attention of the desk. Could not get wireless internet connection. They did come look at it and offered to move us. By the time staff came to see and hear our situation, upstairs occupant had apparently gone to bed for the night and we were unpacked and ready for bed. Maintenance came and fixed the running toilet and put a towel on top of our room's A/C unit outside our window so it quieted the drip from upstairs unit. Location was good, room big, staff tried to be helpful, but the actual facility needs some attention.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Only there for one short night

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Cons: The mattresses
Everything about the facility was okay but the beds in our room were terrible. Could feel and hear the springs in both beds, not the least bit comfortable. When I told the desk people in the morning, they were sympathetic but said that the mattresses had been changed 6 months ago, so they were surprised. They must have been very cheap mattresses to have only lasted 6 months. Would not take the chance of staying here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would. It stay again

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Woke up in the middle of the night to the smell of burning plastic. Had to in plug all of the lamps and fridge to get it to go away. This place definitely has some type of electrical issue going on, would not stay again due to risk of fire.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Tv did not work, no coffee on lobby, lousy pillows
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston mass

Budget hotel in Middletown

Posted Aug 30, 2017
On the bright side the rooms are nice with laminate flooring and are clean. On the not so bright side, the pillows were little squares, beds were uncomfortable,almost no drawer space and very small TV screens. AC did not work but maintenance showed us how to fix it by unplugging it and then re-plugging it in, so we did this several times. The other staff appears annoyed and impatient, it was hard to get towels from the housekeeping staff (told us to call front desk, front desk said call housekeeping). There is no elevator or if there is one, we were not allowed to use it. Be prepared to carry your luggage upstairs if you are on the second floor. Restaurant staff also rude and dismissive. Staircase duct-taped together. No amenities in the lobby other than newspapers and small selection of drinks for purchase only.