Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

2.0 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Room Issues

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room location. on the first floor. The coffee in the room & the morning breakfast.
Cons: Tap in shower broken. Curtains are hanging off rail. No iron or iron board in closet. No bottled water in the fridge
Location: The location was not walking distance from restaurants
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland for your recent stay in the Midland area and providing feedback on that stay. We value guest feedback as it is crucial in our ongoing efforts to provide a quality experience for our guests. We are sorry to hear that we fell short of that goal in your instance. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary Daybreak Breakfast and in room coffee we are disappointed to hear that your room had maintenance issues. We have alerted our Maintenance staff to these issues as well as to be more diligent in their routine maintenance efforts. Unfortunately, due to theft, we must keep our irons and ironing boards at the front desk and gladly deliver them to our guests when requested. We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again in the future and improve upon your last experience with us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced and dirty

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was pure trash first it was over price and the room was nasty and the bathroom ceiling was feeling over the shower and the Showerhead was leaking and bathroom towel out of 4 of them 3 were dirty. When I turned on the shower the water was brown for 20 seconds. I will not stay here again unless they tare it down and build another. I can only hope all the rooms weren't like my room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to offer feedback on your recent stay here at Days Inn Midland. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet the standards we have set for ourselves to provide a quality experience for our guests.
4 out of 5
by Greg

Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
by Days18277, Hotel Management
Greg, thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland for your recent accommodation needs while in Midland. We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again when you're in the Midland area.
4 out of 5
by Greg

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Was very unsafe bar was in the back of hotel drunks everywhere
Comment from Hotel Management
by Days18277, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland for your recent stay here in Midland. We're sorry to hear that you did not feel safe due to our onsite lounge. Please be assured that we have a very reliable security company patrolling our property 24/7. Also, the lounge, while separately owned from Days Inn, does employ security staff as well. Again, we thank you for choosing Days Inn and look forward to serving you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Myrna S. from Corpus Christi

Never again

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Pillows and bedding not comfortable, phonetc was broken
Comment from Hotel Management
by Days18277, Hotel Management
Myrna, thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland for your recent stay in Midland. We are sorry to hear that you weren't completely satisfied with your stay as it is our goal to provide a quality experience for our guests. Our maintenance department has rectified the phone issue and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. Our bedding and pillows are less than one year old so we are sorry to hear that you did not find as comfortable as previous guests have. Again, thank you for choosing Days Inn and thank you for provided valued and much appreciated feedback on your stay.
1 out of 5
by Nicholas from Roswell, NM

What do you THINK!

Posted Dec 3, 2015 on Hotels
The desk were filthy and you could tell no one freshen the place up. To top it off there were hands prints on the headboard. And that was on the first night. The second night stay the tables were wiped down but the headboard was not. Upon opening the nightstand drawer there was some KYgel that I know we didn't bring to the room. So you tell me how was my stay??? And when we did show up during the day the sheets were taking off and the towels got taken out. But my water was also thrown out. So I ask you again how was my stay?
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Days18277, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland for your accommodation needs during your recent stay in Midland. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet the standards we've set for ourselves and that our guests have come to expect from a Days Inn experience. We would have welcomed hearing of these concerns during your stay so that we could have rectified them and provided you with the quality stay we strive for. Again, thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland and thank you for offering feedback on your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessica s.

great for last minute loved the jacuzzi

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Orbitz
Awesome And Honest Staff. Enjoyed The Texas Shaped Waffles Mmmmm. Bed Was Comfortable. Room Was Dusty Had The Occasional Dead Beetles Not Really Problem. Placement Of TV, Microwave, And Fridge Without Enough Plug INSOver Great Stay For Last minute
4 out of 5
by THOMAS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kristi

For the price not bad

Posted Sep 6, 2015 on Hotels
It wasn't bad for the price. I had to rearrange the furniture because where the desk was there was no light so no big deal. The phone did not work in my room and there was not a clock. I called and reported the phone outage to the front desk and she said they would have someone come fix it. I got there on a Wednesday and left Friday and no one ever came to fix it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Days18277, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Days Inn Midland for your recent stay here in Midland. We also thank you for taking the time to offer feedback on your stay as guest feedback is vital in our ongoing efforts to provide a quality experience for our guests. We are happy to hear that overall, you were pleased with your stay. We would like the opportunity to have you stay with us again and provide you with a stay that you are completely satisfied with. Again, thank you for your time and for choosing Days Inn Midland.