Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Perfect slice of Scottish hospitality

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: There was a relaxed, good-natured atmosphere among the staff and the hotel was very comfortable
Cons: Wifi improved
Location: There is a falconry on-site and this is a must-do! Great experience to get up-close and personal with raptors and owls - very educational too
Everything from the welcome to the check-out was made effortless and hassle-free. The staff were superb (special thanks to the chefs for catering for gluten-free food for my Coeliac daughter) and we had a wonderful stay in a beautiful venue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Really felt like a castle not just a converted hotel. Make sure you schedule the falconry experience well in advance.... we were lucky to get in last minute and John was he instructor was fabulous. Nice spa area that was included at no charge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Life long dream come true

Posted Oct 11, 2017
I've been wanting to visit Scotland my entire life. My wife and I stayed here our first night and when we arrived I was so overcome with emotion I actually cried. We will DEFINITELY be coming back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice accommodation, but very pricey

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Nicely maintained castle with beautiful views.
Cons: The evening meal. The pre-meal meeting to try to push drink sales.
Location: Good location, with things to do nearby.
The staff was friendly and helpful, however, with the included meals there wasn't any clear direction of what we were supposed to do. The evening meal was fair at best. We had monkfish which was a small chunk of meat with a very thick spinal bone running through it. The dessert was supposed to be some sort of banana cheesecake. What was served was nothing like what I think of as cheesecake. Our lamp was cracked and missing part of it. The toilet broke and wouldn't flush. The fire alarm went off at 2:00 AM. The desk said it was a false alarm.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great themed rooms

Posted Sep 25, 2017
We spent a couple of nights here as a base for Edinburgh, and it was great. Restaurant and bar are unique experiences, but the dungeon restaurant is nicely themed and decorated. We had a room at the very top and there are no lifts anywhere, so be prepared.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Great building but poor service

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: The building and surroundings were awesome. It actually took us back to the era of Lord Dalhousie. Overall the place was clean and well maintained.
Cons: Hospitality. But it seems the place is always full and booked so they don't really care.
Location: There are nice walks in the vicinity. You could do falconry. You would love it if you were a nature lover.
We checked in and were shown our room which was in the basement, I tried calling reception to see if we could get a better room at an upper level. No one picked up the phone, and I learned from other customers that the hotel staff never picks up the phone. When I walked up to talk to the receptionist, she was not very welcoming and told us that that was the only room available. The mattresses were bad and we literally sank in and woke up with a bad backache the next day. The bathroom screen did not function properly and caused overflow on the floor. The Orangery staff at times was good but at times very amateurish. Breakfast time was good both days and the staff was well trained and attentive. Dinner at Orangery was a bad experience. I ordered Rump of Lamb and I was not even given a steak knife, I had to ask for it. No one bothered to come and ask if everything was okay or if I needed anything else. I did not feel like leaving a tip but left some anyway. They definitely need to train their staff in hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle USA

Great character and location.

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Charming property.
Cons: The carpet was very stained and detracted from the overall room experience.
I little gem, I loved the falconry. Amazing birds.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not worth the price.

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The castle is poorly maintained, staff is not efficient (asked for 4 glasses and a bucket of ice after we checked in - and there were very few guests in the castle at that time - and it was never provided, every time we ordered food, it took more than 30 min to get served whether it was a snack, breakfast or dinner, toilet was leaking in our room, other bedroom we had booked had no hot water and no internet for part of the stay). The overall impression is that whoever owns the castle makes enough money with wedding receptions not to bother with improving customer service and maintaining the castle. Too expensive for what it is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Stay there for the experience

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Interior of castle
Cons: A lot could be improved. Room decorations, training of servers, etc.
Location: City of Edinburgh and Rosslyn Chapel.
One must remember that one stays at such a place for the experience, not the service or luxury. The rooms and service are adequate, and the breakfast is very good. The interior of the castle is beautiful and worth the cost. Overall it was a good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Aust

Nice Castle accommodation close to Edinburgh

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: I would like to see improvements with the internet in the rooms and a higher standard of staff before I would recommend at these rates.
We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed the atmosphere of the castle. The room was comfortable but could have been a little cleaner especially the carpet. Unfortunately the internet did not work in the room so we would have to go downstairs into the common room to access it. Most people seemed to do the same so I presume it was the same for other rooms. For the price we paid I thought this was a little disappointing. The breakfast room was very roomy with a view over the grounds however our cooked breakfasts were small and cold each morning. Again disappointing given the cost. The common room bar area was very pleasant and comfortable but the service was slow, the staff struggled to get the correct drinks and the bar was not well stocked, out of port and certain beers. While the room was accessible for the evenings the bar hours were limited.