Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mansfield, Nottingham

Lovely location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Have had a very lovely dtay at the Fairsheils, the place was very clean and homely, nothing too much trouble for Ann, the owner. The sitting room, with the open fire was comfy and snug and the breakfast really filling with homemade jam to top it off. Will definately be stopping again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fairshiels? Way more than fair enough..excellent!

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Warm welcome; nice place; comfortable and relaxing. What more does one want?
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Fairshiels B&B

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly, helpful hosts, comfortable and clean room, pretty much exactly what we hoped for. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very accommodating Hostess

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: Charming owner
Very comfortable room. Very convenient for early access to Edinburgh. Great breakfast. Very helpful hostess
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Lovely place. Friendly and welcoming.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Friendly and welcoming. My daughter and I had a great stay. Breakfast was delicious and served with a friendly smile. Would go again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan USA

30 Minutes SE of Edinburgh

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Great Bed & Breakfast just a 30 minute drive from Edinburgh. I paid at time of booking. Ample parking. The site presented as clean and room was spacious. Bathroom was updated and nicely cleaned. Common sitting room with TV and free wi fi in the setting. Breakfast served individually was great and filling. No skimping here. Egg, ham, two sausage links, black pudding pattie, potato pattie, several slices of toast and jams, three types of juices to choose from, tea/coffee, cereals and milk. No concerns at all and I would Highly Recommend Fairshiels B & B without hesitation! Cheers!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Friendly B&B with convenient access to Edinburgh.

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The host was amazing, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and it was a lot of fun to visit with other guests during our meal. Our only complaint is how uncomfortable the beds were. After a long day of traveling, it was disappointing to not be able to have a good nights sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding at Oxonfoord Castle

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Just what we wanted as a 2 night base for a wedding at Oxonfoord Castle and a short drive to visit Edinburgh. Room and breakfast were good. Will use again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warrington, England.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: see above.
Cons: beds creaked a bit when we turned over
Location: we were going to a family gathering in Temple, nearby.
Good position for what we wanted. On main tourist road. Slightly hard to find. Interesting house with some lovely furniture. Landlady very helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic place to stay outside of Edinburgh

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Our visit to Edinburgh happened to coincide with the Royal Highland Show, which made finding a place to stay in the city for a reasonable price at the last minute impossible (completely our fault, we know). Fortunately, we found Fairshiels, which was just a 30-minute drive from the city center. Anne welcomed us warmly upon arrival and quickly got us settled. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, and the communal bathroom was incredibly clean. We made use of the living room for a bit, which had an old piano that was fun to play. Breakfast the next morning was delicious, and we had nice conversations with the other guests. Because we were traveling on a motorcycle, Anne brought up the East Fortune Race that was happening nearby, and we actually changed our itinerary to check it out, which was well worth it. We were grateful for the kindness and hospitality and would definitely stay here again.