Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Great location with access to the city via taxi and an amazing amount of historic locations a short driving distance from the hotel. If you plan to see more than just the city, this is the way to go. Excellent staff and very knowledgeable of the area. Fantastic stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in a castle

Posted Nov 1, 2017
We ended up going to this hotel after a combination of issues, having to reserve the rooms literally just half an hour before we actually arrived. When we arrived to the hotel the staff made us feel comfortable from the very first moment. The hotel itself is very well looked after and all the places we were to look cozy. Our kids absolutely loved the experience as they are quite into knights. The breakfast buffet is quite nice. The only but we could find are the matresses that were not as comfortable as we would had liked, but this is probably a matter of taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Lovely place in secluded grounds

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Took my Queen here for a short break to Edinburgh. The place is nicely decorated in original Scottish themes and was clean. Our room was large and the bathroom was in one of the castle turrets which was really authentic. We stayed 3 nights and dined here too. The breakfast and meals were all really nice and there was plenty of choice. The staff was pleasant, had smiles and was really helpful. I would recommend this place as it’s good value and if you fancied a stay somewhere a bit different away from the modern city life it’s well worth a stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Everett WA

Lovely castle

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: The castle rooms and the excellent food
Cons: Not really
Location: Close to Edinburgh and all the sights yet on a large estate secluded and quiet
Enjoyed two nights here and wish it could have been longer. The staff was very attentive to our needs. The food was great. Such a beautiful interior! The room was spacious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumfries and Galloway

Lovely authentic Scottish castle

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Stayed in an en-suite family room in the attic. Very pleased with the spacious room. With two teenage boys the free wifi and plenty of sockets for their gadgets was very handy. Good location, close to Edinburgh and all it has to offer. Very easy check in and check out. Enjoyed the haggis and black pudding at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from st. thomas ontario

Perfect country setting

Posted Oct 19, 2017
It was just as a castle should be, felt like the king and Queen. Had dinner there and it was exceptional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Lovely building- sadly in need of total renovation

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The staff - apart from Monday 2/10/2017 breakfast chef.
Cons: The decor in halls ,bedrooms and the downstairs breakfast room needs urgent updating.
Location: Grounds are lovely. I am from Edinburgh - so know the area- a shuttle bus into the City centre once or twice a day would be a tremendous booking point
All the staff were friendly and helpful with the exception of the chef . On Monday 2/10/2017 went into dining room for breakfast at 7.30am. The hot food was still being cooked - I was the only hotel guest present- I asked if chef might cook 2 rashers of bacon for slightly longer - the waiter asked but was told "no it is all cooked at once" Disappointing . I'm afraid this would deter me from returning or recommending to any friends. The other staff create a warm atmosphere in a hotel that needs updating. The housekeeping staff do an excellent job in such worn rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Quite and friendly with the dinner and breakfast very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SanFrancisco

Nice Hotel in Jungle

Posted Sep 25, 2017
I could not use my reservation except the second night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cedar Rapids, IA

Castle Experience

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The nice employees-espicially Adam and Penny
Cons: It appeared they were very understaffed and it showed in the service they had
Location: Outside of Edinburgh approx. 30 minutes.
We stayed at Melville Castle to get the 'castle' experience however we were more disappointed than pleased. The rooms were disappointing, and the location is so far out there were little options for dining away from the castle. The rooms have a living area and a loft area with the bed up on the loft. With the bathroom downstairs it is very inconvenient. The castle/hotel caters to weddings and there were two on site during the three days we stayed there. The music played loud and the DJ's voice boomed until a little past midnight. It was difficult to sleep with the noise from the wedding. The employees are extremely friendly and tried to accommodate everyone, however, they are especially understaffed when they have a wedding at the castle. The front desk employee had to cover the front desk and also bartend in a different room. You had to go into the reception area to ask the employee to come and get you a drink. Adam and Penny were great in the restaurant and worked their tails off.