Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Unreservedly recommended

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: The hostel was clean, bed comfortable and the showers great.
Cons: A hand basin in the mens toilet would be an improvement.
Location: Close to Walmart, and US Post. It is a short bus ride or a 40 minute walk to the CBD
Stayed a Midtown 6 nights en route to Nome. As an octogenarian I was somewhat apprehensive as to how I would fit in with the younger travelers. No problem as all were friendly. The staff were helpful particularily Caesar who insisted on sharing his meal with me and John who took me and my bicycle to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wasilla, AK

A Little Bit Like Home

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Nice clean rooms and quiet. The owner is super nice! I would stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget option

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Very friendly staff who work 24-7. Clean facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Total value for the money !

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The price !
I stayed 2 different nights in July, 2017, going to and from Denali. I had one other room-mate (the rooms sleep 4). It was clean and comfortable and the living room/kitchen was spacious and comfy, and we both could spread out. It was nice having a fridge and coffee-maker too (we did not cook anything but we could have). For the price, this was quite the bargain !!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Arizona

Great staff and management

Posted Jul 2, 2017
This was my first stay in a hostel. The staff and management went above and beyond from providing transportation on there own time and vehicle to ensuring that the customer satisfaction was met. I would differently recommend this establishment and I see why they have such a high rating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review us and I am thrilled that your first hostel experience was a good one. Hope to see you back at some time in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Perfect base camp for adventures.

Posted Jun 27, 2017
The staff here is outstanding. They know the area and will point you in the right direction. The place is clean and friendly and most of all, welcoming. I will be back for sure!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
David, We enjoyed having you with us and would love to have you back. Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Fly safe!
5 out of 5
by Dan

Great Stay.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Top notch.Was perfect for me.And John was brilliant giving me lifts whenever he could to wherever I needed to go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017
Dan, We loved having you here. Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope to see you back. John
5 out of 5
by Robert

Great place to stay! Staff was great!

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
This is great place to stay before going out into the bush and when you return. Fairly close to the airport. Keep in mind, it is bunk house type of place. Would be great for a group of guys (or gals) to stay before venturing out into the rest of the state. YOU WILL NOT BEAT THE PRICE!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Thank you so much for staying with us and your review is greatly appreciated. See you next time. John
4 out of 5
by benjamin

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Thanks for your review. Sorry, again, about the airport issue. John
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted May 30, 2017
John was great and couldn't have asked for a better host! We had everything we need! And I enjoyed my stay at the hostel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the review and for staying with us. We enjoyed having the both of you. Hope to see you at the end of the summer.