Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: you can smoke in the rooms
Cons: put more towells in the rooms
Location: love the location
the elevator sounded like it was going to crash between the 2nd and 3rd floor having to go to the frount dest to get coffeecup when they say there are dishes in the room and only one washrag and two towels for 2 pople
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Sandy, thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your comments. We appreciate feedback such as yours, as it helps us to improve our service. We are sorry we were less than perfect in providing a wonderful, memorable stay. Your concerns are being shared with the team in an effort to earn your perfect rating next time. We would love another chance to welcome you so we can provide you with the outstanding service you should certainly expect from us. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kenai, ak

Weak breakfast, not good for diabetics

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Business center was broken, first day no wifi because the limit is 5 devices, and the kids where doing their phones and laptops, finally with a call to tech support I got internet late on the second day. Breakfast is sugary muffins and granola bars. Vending machines were empty :(
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Perry, thank you for your feedback and for staying with us. Although you had a pleasant stay, we are sorry you were not satisfied with our facilities and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your concerns have been shared with our food and beverage team. Thanks once more, and we hope to welcome you back for enjoying a much better visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Noisy fan
Staff was very friendly. I liked that the bedroom was a separate room. The fan in the bathroom was VERY noisy and could not be turned off. Kitchen chairs were stained but the rooms were clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Marcia, thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your comments. We appreciate feedback such as yours, as it helps us to improve our service. We are sorry we were less than perfect in providing a wonderful, memorable stay. Your concerns are being shared with the team in an effort to earn your perfect rating next time. We would love another chance to welcome you so we can provide you with the outstanding service you should certainly expect from us.  Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Soldotna, AK

Travelling though

Posted Oct 6, 2017 on Orbitz
Good location. Clean and comfortable rooms. Inadequate front desk staff during peak check-in hours.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Soldotna, thank you for sharing your experience at Extended Stay America. We are glad to k now you loved the convenience of our location and had a good time here. We also appreciate your observation and have taken a note of the same. Thanks once more for your business, and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
by extended stay from Midtown

Love staying here

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
I like the kitchen and separate room from the living room lots of room for the whole family
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Many thanks for sharing your wonderful review of Extended Stay America. We are delighted we exceeded your expectations for a fun-filled visit to our area. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage Ak

Worst stay ever

Posted Sep 29, 2017
I've never stayed at a worst hotel in my life. Staff was rude. Was not told upon check in that we would not receive housekeeping. However upon check out I was informed the reason we didn't receive housekeeping was because we stayed less than 7 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Kayla, I apologize for the disappointing stay you had with us. We are extremely sorry we were not pleased with our hotel’s policy in regard to the housekeeping service and regret the inconvenience it caused. It’s never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way. Our goal is to maintain the highest standard in guest service, so we apologize we fell short of this. I hope you will give us a chance to impress you on a future visit. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by Arnel

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Arnel, We appreciate your feedback. We are sorry there were few issues which kept you from giving us a higher rating. We regret the inconvenience caused and hope you will return for a perfect stay. Sincerely, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
by Karl S

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff at front desk was efficient friendly and professional. Rooms need more care but maintenance and housekeeping are not supported enough at this extended stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Karl, thank you for reviewing your experience at Extended Stay America. We are glad to know you liked the service provided by our staff and had a pleasant stay. Also, your comments show we have room for improvements and we will certainly introspect and implement necessary measures in an effort to improve ourselves. We hope to see you again so we can deliver you an exceptional experience. Sincerely, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Booked for the airport convenience and the shuttle wouldn't take us at 7 am. The hours should have been listed and I would have booked elsewhere. The business room was not accessible to guests. When they say check in as 3:00 plan for that. We were a few minutes early and room was not available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
We sincerely apologize for not meeting all of your expectations and truly regret the inconvenience it caused. I would like to inform you that our website clearly states about our shuttle service. We are working with our team to make sure we are more consistent in our service levels. We hope you will give us an opportunity to make this up to you on a future stay. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Homer

Gross

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The first room we went to, the sofa bed wouldn't open or close all the way. And looked as though it had been left that way by housekeeping. The next room had obviously not been vacuumed, we discovered urine pooled and feces smeared around the toilet the next morning, the sofa mattress had blood stains on it, the shower looked like it was growing mold, and half of the light bulbs were burned out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your candid feedback. We sincerely apologize for the housekeeping issues you encountered which resulted in a disappointing stay. We have checklists in place to inspect every place after it has been serviced. Unfortunately, we missed something during this process and for that, I truly regret the inconvenience it caused. I am working with my housekeeping team to reiterate the importance of our daily duties to make sure this isn't repeated. We hope you will give us another opportunity to provide a better experience on your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager