Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Not the Best Motel in Anchorage

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: Better outdoor security - chasing off the homeless people that were hanging around it & fixing the dead bolt locks on the doors.
Location: Location is awful - it is in a business area but that part of town is very run-down!
We pulled up to the address listed and there were people hanging out all around the motel that appeared to be homeless. I called Expedia about cancelling the reservation, but since it was the day of check in - I was told that I was responsible for payment whether I stayed or not. We could not afford to pay for two hotel rooms for the night so, against all instinct, we stayed. The dead bolt did not lock so we were very nervous all night about someone bursting in our door. The room itself was not bad, but the neighborhood around the motel is terrible so I would not recommend it to anyone!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Alaskan Experience

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Hotel is in midtown. Several restaurants are right across the street. It is not fancy but has character. For the price it was a good choice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The NoTell Motel

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Cheap
Cons: What couldn't
Supposed to serve breakfast. Nobody was available
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not as nice as the photos

Posted Jul 20, 2017
The only good thing is the late check in. The bathroom situation is lame - 2 single use bathrooms for a floor of around 20 rooms. The bathrooms were also quite dirty - not the toilets thank god. But I was much too afraid to take a shower. Our cab driver from the airport said there were bed bugs, so although I didn't get bit. The stigma was enough to make it hard to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by CB, Hotel Management
The 3 shared bathrooms are for 11 rooms. We thank you for the feedback regarding the bathrooms. When possible, we now clean the shared bathrooms hourly. As with all hotels sometimes we have guests that bring bed bugs with them. The second we find out there is a bed bug issue in a room we close it down, spray for bed bugs, then super heat it. We hope this addresses your concerns and hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Paid but didn't stay

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I arrived at 2.20am, delayed by traffic and weather conditions from Denali to Anchorage. There was no one at the hotel to answer the door or phone. Expedia wasn't able to help either. On the contrary, they offered me to book at a different place for $100 more at my expense. All this at 2.45am in the morning with extreme lack of sleep. Here is what the hotels checkin policy said- Check-in policies Check-in time starts at 4 PM Check-in time ends at 2 AM Your room/unit will be guaranteed for late arrival. Read- "guaranteed for late arrival" I ended up booking another place for $110. Today, the hotel has charged my credit card. Promptly, disputed. Worst experience ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Chris, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I'm sorry for your experience in Anchorage but you have misunderstood the nature of the "guarantee for late arrival". This means that, unlike some hotels, we will not resell your room if you do not arrive by a certain time in the evening. We hold your room for you until we close at 2am and only at that point do we charge you as a "no show" if you have not previously cancelled your reservation. We are open until 2am for late arrivals as per our policies, and if you had called us in advance to let us know about your late arrival we would have been happy to have someone on site to check you in even later than that. We are sorry that we were unable to have you to stay and hope you will give us another opportunity to have you as a guest in the future. Management
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2017
Good for a one night stay, but any longer and you will need to find other hotels
2 out of 5
by miqueas

No water heater

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Cold freaking water
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anchorage alaska

Great place

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Nice quiet the only problem was the rooms are very hot
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, but you get what you pay for...

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: lobby decor
Cons: security
Location: Far from downtown but not a bad walk from bus stops.
During my stay, I expected low quality as it is a cheap hostel. The lobby area had cool decorations. The community kitchen was useful, but all my food was stolen and nothing was done about it. I stayed in one of the sleeping pods. It was as you would expect a sleeping pod to be. There were some shady characters who hung out in and around the place.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Bad service, no one was at the front desk waited for two hours to check in.. dirty