Ratings based on 1,728 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

All good.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Good size Clean room and friendly staff.
Cons: Valet parking should be hourly after first 24 hours.
My wife and I stayed here overnight after attending a special event nearby. Room was clean and spacious. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Valet driver Wilson is an asset to the hotel- very friendly and personable. Only negative is parking is per 24 hours so if you stay 25 hours you are charged for two day parking. We moved our car to another lot after checking out and explored more of the city. Would definitely stay here again as the location is convenient to much of lower midtown sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Its a bit dated but very clean and comforta

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: Location. Staff. Quiet.
Cons: Short term new curtains and nets. Long term a bit of updating.
Location: Its Midtown , very near the Empire State Building so near the theatres, restaurants and sub ways so nothing is far.
Its a bit dated but very clean and comfortable. Shower was great. bathroom a good size. Bed comfortable, The curtains where cheap and didn't really close properly and the nets where ripped. windows where very dirty. Lifts worked well and never waited long. reception/ lounge are great and most of the staff are great. Well placed for mid town, close to subways.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Literally two blocks away from the Empire State Building! Hotel is great! Staff is great!! Only downfall is their breakfast was extremely underwhelming.. paid $18 for cereal and pastries..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Wonderful hotel in great location

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: The fireplace in lobby was warm and inviting and our room was large and comfortable. Our beds were also very cozy and comfortable.
Cons: When we got to our room there were no blankets and the heat was on 55. It was a cold welcoming after a day of touring NYC in the frigid cold.
Location: Location was great and close to subway. Walking distance to many places.
Our room was so nice and comfortable. We truly enjoyed our warm home away from home while we spent 5 days in NYC touring in the frigid cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great location

Posted Jan 4, 2018
Pros: Location and the staff
Cons: The room really need air conditioning and in room coffee making would have been greatly appreciated
Location: Everything! Everything is a short walk away, you are pretty much next door to the Empire State Building
The location of this hotel is fantastic if you are a family, not too far from anything that New York has to offer! We were upgraded to a bigger room on arrival, which was great. The staff were fab and we all had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Comfortable Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: Comfort of beds and pillows, spacious rooms and bathrooms, friendliness & helpfulness of staff.
Cons: Few more towels - enough for one each
Location: Empire State building & Maceys very close. Range of restaurants and cafes
We had a great stay at Hotel Avalon, nice welcoming staff and the room was comfortable. It was warm despite the freezing temperatures outside. We found the beds comfortable and the bathroom was quite spacious. The fridge was a nice touch and we made the most of the coffee station on the ground floor. We found the location really good; easy walking distance from Penn Station (and thus Newark Airport) and subway stations plus tourist locations. We had breakfast once at the hotel and it was good with a range of pastries and bagels plus fruit and yoghurt. We also found some good places to have breakfast nearby. Our only small issues of concern, the sofa bed wasn't made up but housekeeping were prompt in responding; we didn't really have enough towels and occasionally the lift gave us a bit of a wait. None of these were enough to make us regret our choice and we would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Nice hotel, superb location, could walk to most places I was interested in. Metro station 2 blocks away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mississippi

Great place in the middle of it all

Posted Dec 26, 2017
First time trip to NYC made all that much better because of this hotel. Great staff, big rooms, comfortable beds and in the middle of midtown. Close to numerous subway stops, restaurants and the Empire State Building, I don’t think we could have asked for a better experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel near the Empire State Building

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Really enjoyed staying there. Room was spacious. Hotel is in excellent location and the staff was friendly and efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Very good, very nice stuff, the family is very big.