Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Very nice hotel, quiet, clean, well managed. Not a five star hotel, but deserves a 4 star rating
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Midtown.

Posted May 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Great location near Midtown. Close to local grocery store, local taverns and shopping. Only a few blocks away from the Empire State building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was small but it gets the job done; you can't expect a big room in NYC for this price so that didn't bother me. Room was clean and everything was functional. Free breakfast was pretty good. Great location and easy to get to and from. I would gladly stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Great value for location!

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Hotels
The location is excellent, due to its convenient Murray Hill location next to the 6 train. As a lifelong New Yorker, I can say that the Clarion is in a safe, comfortable location and you can't beat the price. The room was on the small side, but the bed was comfortable, the room was clean (dated, but clean), the temperature cozy, and the free breakfast was lovely. The staff kind and welcoming, I think this is a great inexpensive place and it suited my overnight stay after attending a gala just fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small but close to subway and bars

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Well, we knew that a hotel in New York would be small and any I have previously stayed in have been... but this is a whole new level of small. I would only recommend it if you are traveling alone. My husband and I stayed here for 5 days and he actually had to leave the room when I needed to get dressed and move around because there was simply no space. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean, but the rooms were outdated and the carpet/ walls were very dirty. The breakfast is what you would expect for a "complimentary breakfast" - not bad, not good. There is one elevator and it was old and slow. We took the stairs most of the time from the 3rd floor. Hot water ran out on our last night and was still out the morning we left, so we had to go without showers, which wasn't very ideal. The location is very close to the 28th street subway station, so that was a major plus. We also tried several different bars around the hotel and loved them - hole in the wall bars with great bartenders, drink specials and locals.... so if you're in to that kind of thing, this is a great location for that. We especially enjoyed Desmond's (next door), Wolfe Tone's and Whiskey... something. There are also a lot of convenient restaurants and a Walgreen's around the corner. It's far enough away from the lights and sounds and it's a grew location for subway use, but be prepared for the incredibly small size and lack of frills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty convenient. Staff was nice.

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I included it in the previous
Cons: I included it in the previous
Location: Subway was only a few blocks away. I walked everywhere and it was pretty convenient to everything
Overall the experience was very pleasant. Internet worked great, breakfast was good. Staff was very nice. Hotel was very clean and laid out well. I came for vacation so had no timetables or agenda. So any suggestions I have would just add to a nice experience. 1. The elevator took forever to come. I ended up walking up the stairs because each time I was convinced it was never coming. 2. The room at about midnight each night got very cold. I don't know if they turned down the heat but it was very cold and the covers were not adequate to deal with the cold. 3. The last day I was there there was no cold water. The only notification was a posted Xerox note on the elevator and one in the hall.There was no apology or anything and so I went without a shower because I couldn't brave the cold to endure an icy one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Quiet.

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Very quiet.
Location: I drove to New York in order to see John Mclaughlin and Chick Corea perform at the Blue Note Club on 3rd Street. Gayle Moran sang one song.
The staff at the front desk was efficient and pleasant. I had a ticket for valet parking in 5 minutes. Their protocol for valet parking is to dial "0" 40 minutes before you expect to depart and the car is available when you check out. It had to be the most quiet hotel room I have ever slept in. This was a Wednesday evening.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant stay. Good breakfast. Price not as outrageous as other hotels in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
I like the location...13 minute walk from Grand Central Station...15 minutes from most anything else.