Ratings based on 9,164 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Overall Nice hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: lots of restaurant close by, Rockefeller Centre just a few blocks away.
Location 5 stars; Conditions of hotel 3.5 stars; Service 4 stars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

My only issue

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location to the subway line 6 and E train.
Cons: Free breakfast for people who reserve with Expedia.
Location: He felt safe to walk around like most of NY city. St. Patrick's Cathedral was a short walk from the hotel and the subway gets you to any location!
The hallways were pumped with a fragrance that was too strong. Some people have a sensitivity with perfumes so this hotel would be a no for them. Luckily the rooms did not have the same smell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Central location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Basic , clean, minimalist hotel , small rooms, but all you need on a business trip
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Jersey

Decent, clean hotel.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We stayed in a very small room, so I can't comment on the deluxe rooms which might be much nicer than the one we had. Unfortunately, we did not enjoy our stay. The bed was quite mushy. Also, it was odd that the comforter and sheet were reversed; sheet on top. So we fixed that ourselves. Also, the bathroom had only one very small shelf and no vanity. So it was almost impossible to do anything in there. No place to put your make-up, razor, etc. And the bathroom was a decent size, so there was room if they had made an effort. And lastly, we asked for housekeeping to come and bring some Kleenex, as we had none in the room. It seemed that the person dropped off the Kleenex and stole my mini Jambox Bluetooth speaker and iPhone charger too. Very disappointing. Make sure you secure valuables in any hotels and if you stay here, get one of the larger deluxe rooms!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback, Steve. We deeply regret the challenges you had during your time with us. The security and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance so we're disheartened that you had such problems. We hold ourselves to a much higher standard of service so we'll be sure to address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Nice hotel next to railroads and car service

Posted Sep 18, 2017
My experience was wonderful well respected Staff and curtisy of refreshments were always welcomed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Great experience

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The location is great, the staff was very friendy ar check in, the room was very confortable and well mantained. We really enjoyed our stay here. We will recommend the hotel no doubt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Started out ok, but each visit gets a little worse

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience to my office.
Cons: Update rooms. More in-room amenities.
Location: Midtown east. Very close to museums, Rockefeller Center and Times Square.
This was my third stay at this hotel this year. My first visit was nice. I had a nice, large, clean room. It was conveniently located next to the office where I was working for the week. However, a few things I noticed right away: - No mini fridge. I was staying for a week and wasnt able to keep any leftovers or snacks because I had no way to store them. - Ice doesnt seem to be available on every floor? I had ice on my first visit on floor 11, but my second visit was on floor 3 and I couldnt locate the ice anywhere. I ended up going back to 11 to get some. On my second visit, my room was a bit smaller and not quite as nice as the first. I had booked this room on Expedia for 4 nights. When I returned to my room on the 3rd night I found myself locked out. . Apparently, they had not listed me for 4 nights and locked my out of my room with all of my belongings inside. They eventually fixed the problem and gave me a voucher for a free breakfast that next day. On my third visit, my room was tiny. There was random furniture covering old AC units. It looked grungy. My shower drain had a very hard time draining and I was standing in a few inches of water the whole time. I set the AC to 68 and it never seemed to get any cooler than 72. I also had to pay $15/day for wifi on my first two visits, and this was for the slower wifi. I will probably book another hotel in the future... one with more amenities and larger, nicer rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Location, friendly and helpful staff, rates
Cons: Better wine selection, maybe a larger bar to accommodate more people. Larger staff for check in/checkout.
Location: 2 blocks to different subway lines. 10 minute walk to Grand Central 15 minute walk to Times Square Many affordable options nearby for breakfast
This is a great location to enjoy walking through the city. Quick access to multiple subway lines, Grand Central and a 15 minute walk to Times Square. The staff was very friendly, though they could've used more at the check in counter during the busy check in - check out times. Much more affordable than other hotels in same area and very clean and comfortable, and who spends all day in a hotel room in NYC anyway? Taxi and Uber/Lyft readily accessible but the subway is much faster due to the traffic and the amount of time you spend just sitting in traffic. We frequently walked to Broadway shows and Times Square and there are many options for great breakfasts and pubs within a couple of blocks of the hotel. My only minor disappointment is that the bar is a little small for the size of the hotel and the wine offerings could be a bit better and diverse. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Just ok.

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Doubletree corporation needs to do some much needed upgrades to this location. See Experience info above.
Location: Close to Grand Central; 15 minute walk to Time Square
The lobby smells like my great grandma's gardenia flowers, really strong. The bar staff aren't very attentive. I stood near the bar for 10 minutes and not one of them asked me if I wanted a drink. The ice machines need some tender loving care. I walked two floors of stairs to find a working ice machine. There aren't coffee makers in rooms or a mini fridge either. Housekeeping is very noisy. I heard nothing but slamming doors every morning. It was a bummer! Doubletree corporation needs to do some much needed upgrades to this location. And the staff should be handing out those warm chocolate chip cookies more often.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
We appreciate you sharing your feedback, Christine. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide every guest with excellent experience and we regret that your stay with us did not reflect this. Please know that your concerns have been passed on to our management team so they can be properly addressed. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon so we can show you the quality experience we know that we are capable of sharing with our guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel to stay in Manhattan

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Very friendly & efficient working staff, very clean room, and the free cookies for hotel guests!!
Cons: Very good experience
Location: Walk to Empire State building to go to the Observatory, walk to Time square to see the amazing city
We booked this hotel along with the air fare from Expedia and were impressed by the location, the cleanest and the free cookies from the hotel. The front desk was very friendly and checked us in late at night. The room was a bit smaller compared to other hotels we stayed at different cities but I guess it is Manhattan, so it makes sense. The hotel location is very prime! 5-star for the location. 2 streets away to 5th Avenue, walking distance to Time Square, Rockerfeller Center, Empire State Building, New York Public Library etc. We even walked to United Nation and around Central Park. The location is the best for DoubleTree By Hilton Metropolitan hotel.