Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Great location steps from grand central station

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast buffet was not replenished enough.. had to ask each day for eggs as the container was empty..
Location: Grand central station 2 minute walk to trains/subway..
Great hotel; friendly staff check in /out was fast and easy..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: In particular the staff
Cons: Maybe a better gym offering
Location: Location +++, 5th Ave, The Met, Central Park, Grand Central, Times Square, Empire State, Chrysler Building and the Rockefeller, all within walking dis
We enjoyed our stay at the Dylan; we had ten days at the hotel during which we experienced extremely cold weather (-20C). During this time we had a pipe freeze and temperature failure. The staff and the hotel management were extremely helpful and understanding. We were offered a room at another hotel which we did not take up. We were updated of the situation regularly. Although a difficult time for the hotel under circumstances that essentially were out of their control, they remained focused on the guests and their comfort. We would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Mostly good, with a lot of "buts"

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Staff is extremely friendly.
Cons: A lot of things...check the main review.
The photos looked great and modern, but upon arrival, we were disappointed to see that the building was a bit on the older side. I think they're doing some renovations to improve the hotel, but that was (literally and figuratively) dampened by a pipe that had burst the week before and flooded the main lobby. Their "work center" was a small corner of the lobby with a desk and computer. At least there was decent wi-fi. The room was not that big, although the ceilings were pleasantly high. The bathroom had good water pressure, but the towels were weathered. Bedding was clean, but for some reason, they consistently used a flat sheet for the king bed that left the last foot or so of the bed uncovered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Convenient location on a quiet street

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Clean, quiet, comfortable.
Location: Close to Grand Central, Bryant Park and the New York public library.
Really enjoy staying in this quiet hotel. It's a convenient location for transport whilst being on east 41st which tends to be quiet. Handy base for the main tourist sites.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I don't know how this is a four-star hotel.

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Overall, there is nothing bad about the hotel. Everything was clean, and the location is good. However, it feels very old and lacks character. The bed is very uncomfortable (it feels like a large college dorm mattress) and it just is not worth the amount of money you spend to stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 30, 2017
I like the hotel decoration and location near Bryant Park, but I feel the room a bit small, may be was the furnitures.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Good location but poor service

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Check in process was confusing, as the front desk clerk was looking at the wrong reservation. Coffee machine in room never worked despite our complaints. Telephone line in room did not work for two days. Housekeeping forgot our room twice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Carmen, We apologize for the inconvenience during check in, and any other inconvenience you may have encountered. We will make sure to address these issues directly to ensure they dont happen again. Our sincerest apologies, and we hope to host you again in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2017
HVAC system not adequate and TV quality not current technology.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 6, 2018 by Reservations, Hotel Management
We will address these issues directly immediately. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope to host you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to attratctions

Posted Dec 22, 2017
Cons: Not that many outlets and the ones that were available were hard to get to.
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Dylan Hotel. It was well furnished, clean, and most importantly within walking distance to many attractions. The hotel was essentially a place to sleep however the staff was polite and very knowledgeable and we would definitely stay here again. Also the hotel is a block from Grand Central Station which made travel easy. We also were nearby Bryant park and other restaurants so dinning was much less of a hassle.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2018 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the perfect 5 rating! We are very happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip to nyc! See you soon I hope!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from niagara falls

Lovely hotel, staff very nice.

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Grand central station, great restaurants, shopping all within walking distance.
Great hotel very close to grand central station, perfect if your travelling by train. Breakfast was very nice and the staff were so nice to us.. we will be back.