Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape cod, MA

Nice compact room ....totally quiet. Excellent

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: location. staff. quiet room.
Location: Union Square, Morgan Library easy connection to subways at 17th Street (Union Square)
the staff was so personable and efficient. room service was quick and the room itself was totally quiet.The restaurant wait staff was a bit disorganized but the food was good. We will stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Hi jerre, thank you so much for your wonderful review. We're so glad you had a lovely, peaceful stay and we look forward to your next visit! Regards, Gansevoort Park
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, ,GA

Disappointed.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Location - one block from metro, walking distance to all the fun things in Flatiron, many great restaurants near by. The doormen were great!
Cons: Clean the carpet - this is supposed to be an upscale hotel, the carpet should not be that dirty! Get rid of those metal pics over the bed.
Location: Starbucks across the street, Sarabeth's and Pret a Manger a block away or so. Metro one block away. 15 min walk to Madison Park.
I've walked by this hotel many times and decided this year to book here. The location could not be better! The building is really attractive and I love that the rooms have big windows that let in a lot of light - my room didn't back up to another close by building (I hate a dark hotel room!). I stayed here 3 nights....I have two complaints. One is the noise. Note that this is all noise from inside the hotel, most of the traffic and sirens outside are barely heard in my room. Night one: my room had an extra door that could join the one next door. I could hear the man next door until 1 am on the phone giving financial advice. Night two: Halloween party in the building. Lots of laughing and talking at 1 am, 2:30 and around 3 am (my room was facing the elevators too). Night three, Friday: at 4 pm heard someone that sounded like they were being beat. Ran out in the hall only to realize it was someone having loud sex in the corner room across the hall (not even close). Later that evening a party happened on the roof top (I was on floor 17, two floors below roof) and my entire room shook to the base of the music. On the wall over my bed were 3 Plexiglas pictures in aluminium frames. Periodically they shook hard when the music picked up and they also shook every time someone on the floor slammed their door. I got little to any quality sleep on my "vacation". Second, the carpet was filthy. Within 5 min my white socks were nasty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Liked the location

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Hi new newyorker, thanks for your review. Glad you like our location, but please find our contact info on our website and reach out with your preferred contact method. We'd like to find out why you gave us this rating as we're always striving to improve the guest experience. Regards, Gansevoort Park
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Terrible Customer Service ...Never again

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: pool
Cons: Customer service
We stayed for seven nights in October 2017, to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel impresses with its location, pool and what you would expect from a Gansevoort property. However, the hotel staff were generally incompetent or indifferent to us. Customer service was terrible. Despite given notice about our wedding anniversary, despite telling us that they would take care of it for us, they managed to forgot about it, and when this was pointed out to them, it was much too late in the night, after three phone calls to reception, before they even knew what to do. They would send up a bottle of cheap Prosecco the next night- again forgetting about it- after a decent night staff member (Daniel) and an apologetic manager tried to do damage control. For the high price that you pay to stay at this 4 star Midtown hotel, there are far better hotels with much better customer service that really make your stay memorable. I will never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Hi Tony, thanks for your review. We're sorry you had this experience. I've forwarded this to management as we're always striving to improve customer experience. If you can, please find our contact info on our website and reach out with your Expedia username + preferred contact method. We'd like to reach out and send a belated wedding anniversary gift to you for the inconvenience. We do hope you try us again. Regards, Gansevoort Park
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A fine hotel trying to be upscale

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Checkin and checkout took less than a minute. Easy access to subway (6 line), walkable to Penn Station.
Cons: The doors to the rooms all slam shut so hard that it shakes the floor! It's difficult to sleep past 8am with people leaving.
It was fine. The hotel is in a fairly central location but there is not much in the immediate vicinity. The room doors SLAM shut (and even trying to close them gently they still make a loud noise).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're glad that you were able to enjoy exploring our neighborhood during your visit. We'll let management know regarding the doors. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Gansevoort Park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Large room, beautifully decorated. Great rooftop bar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our rooftop bar + had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you again! Regards, Gansevoort Park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good amenities

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Great experience. Nice and clean hotel with good amenities. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Regards, Gansevoort Park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Great room: spacious and clean. Helpful staff. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Hi Rahel, thanks for your wonderful review! We're glad you had a great stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Regards, Gansevoort Park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

amazing suite with an amazing rooftop pool

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: rooftop pool room service staff suite
Cons: nothing
Location: walking distance to a bunch of cycling studios, lots of restaurants, quiet park of town but still near theater district by taxi
we stayed at the gansevoort park ave for only 1 night in mid september 2017 with our 2 kids. we got the park avenue suite which is amazing. very large and has 1.5 bathrooms which is great! there were 2 balconies which was unexpected! overall the staff was great. there is valet parking and the rooftop pool and lounge are fabulous. we didn't get to hang out at the lunge too much since we had the kids with us but we are planning to come back soon for an adults only weekend. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay! also the location is great, close to things but not crazy like times square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Hi shannon, thank you for your wonderful review! We're glad you had a pleasant stay with your family and were able to enjoy some of our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again! Regards, Gansevoort Park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pelham Manor

Sheek, Modern, Friendly staff, and Clean

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Beautiful rooftop pool and bar. Unbelievable views of the Empire State Building. Modern, Clean, and spacious rooms. Definitely coming back for more!! Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by GHG Park Management, Hotel Management
Hi Vito, thank you for your kind review! We're glad you had a pleasant stay with us and were able to enjoy our rooftop pool views! We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit! Regards, Gansevoort Park