Ratings based on 3,768 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
This is an old hotel with convenient location. We had a room with two double beds and a private bathroom. It is basic but clean, we didn't need more than that because we only slept in our hotel. The only thing that We were missing is a small fridge so we could store water or some snacks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Quirky hotel in a good location close to tourist attractions. Maids cleaned room daily and provided fresh towels. Would stay here again if visiting New York City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location, great view

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This hotel is great - affordable price in a fab location. We had a view of the Empire State Building from our room, which was amazing. You have to share bathrooms but they are spotless & we rarely had to wait to use them. It's within easy walk of loads of sights (Empire State, Flatiron, Rockefeller Centre etc) & Penn Station & the area is quite quiet. Downsides: the air con rattled loudly. The door of our room was next to the bed so you had to open it with caution to avoid being seen from the corridor but we hardly saw anyone in the corridors so this ended up being ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Very clean, very nice overall place to stay.

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: -location. -quiet, cool room. -my son loved the old style elevator. -Classic New York looking place.
Cons: -New beds, but minor detail
Location: -Great pizza place on the corner. -food carts a few blocks away. -sights of New York
-First time to New York had no idea what to expect. Hotel 31 is a great location, clean comfortable room, actuall very quiet for outside noise as well as inside noise. - Was a bit concerened about the shared bathroom as when I booked I didn't understand, but never a problem. -The staff was great, and helpful. -If I had a complaint the bed could be updated as was a bit older, but very minor detail. -I have recommended this place to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Excellent for the price 👍

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Nice except the shared bathrooms not to big on that concept . Overall great place !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Nice hotel in Manhattan

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Nice Hotel - Cheap and clean. Wi-fi wasnt the best but everything else worked well.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I woke up to a roach crawling across my pillow. I

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Enough said The front desk person did nothing about it...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I thought the price was very resonable. It was very clean and quaint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
My first time I had good service in New York is very clean and good area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Lovely old style hotel.

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Close to everything.Friendly helpful staff.Only downside was wifi wasn't great but would definitely recommend and would gladly stay there again ☺