Ratings based on 786 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious, quiet hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Excellent staff and customer service. Great room; quite spacious for New York! Close to everything (ie Central Park, subway, Grand Central Station, etc). My only complaint is the 60$ per day charge; nothing was superb enough to warrant the fee. Otherwise all was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent midtown hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Excellent midtown hotel I stayed for four nights from September 28 to October 2, 2017. I particularly like the location as there are many other find hotels in the immediate facility as well as eateries. It is very accessible to the subway and A short walk to time square. The hotel is very modern and the staff extremely nice. My only criticism is that two elevators service 23 floors, resulting in an undue waiting time for the elevator. I would recommend this hotel. It is a typical boutique hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Quiet, comfortable and inviting

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Loved this hotel! Rooms were great size for New York, staff were very helpful and accommodating. Hotel was quiet, I managed to get a great nights rest every night. Bathrooms were well equipped with big showers, the rooms were all equipped with a large tv and all the mod cons you'd expect. Fabulous hotel, great location, and I'll definitely be staying again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Labor Day gem

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Great location, love the staff, great bar. Rooms are a little small, but perfect for the solo traveler. Bathrooms are more spacious. The resort fee is a little annoying. All in all I would return(basically for the bar)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Did not feel safe.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
TWICE I was left stranded outside my room because my key card did not work, way to make a girl feel safe in NYC at 1am. My husband made me change hotels and I stayed at the Smyth instead. Highly recommend that one.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Maria

New York accommodation experience

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodation we booked was for a studio room with a separate sitting area with double sofa bed. There was no separate sitting area and no sofa bed. Taxes and fees were already paid in addition to accommodation. The resort fee they charged in addition to our paid accommodation at the hotel in American dollars was excessive considering the very busy congested breakfast area with little sitting area and sometimes little to offer. The hotel was quiet and staff pleasant. The location was good. The room was clean and bed comfortable. Perhaps we booked too early. Not value for money considering surrounding accommodation which was much less expensive and good quality.
5 out of 5
by Bader

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Andrew

It's a gem!

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
I don't normally write reviews but this hotel impresses me every time I stay. Wonderful guest experience, very clean rooms with everything packed into this little gem - mini kitchenette, great mini bar (lots of wine choices), microwave etc. Definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

So much potential, so little oversight...

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Small, intimate hotel with a lot of potential.
Cons: Evaluate each room for dated, worn furniture. Start in Room 804. Drag the sofa bed outside: shoot it, burn it - and bring a Priest for evil spirits!
Location: Plenty of restaurants, etc.
We chose this hotel both for it's positive reviews and proximity to our local family members in the city. Normally we stay at the Gansevoort, Park Ave. We arrived by car and were promptly greeted by a hotel staff member. Lovely touch. The staff member seemed to be a "floating" receptionist; there to greet guests and assist them with their needs proactively. In theory this is a fantastic idea. In practice, it needs work. We arrived around 1PM and our room (a suite) was not ready (didn't expect it to be). The hotel offered to call when the room was ready. Super! That call never came. When we arrived back at the hotel at 5pm, a different "floating" employee told us that they were not certain if our room was ready - check with reception. The receptionist who failed to call us saw us, knew we just wanted our keys, but gave us the "just one minute" while she continued to go over restaurants with the people in front of us. This is where common sense should have come into play. We had two small children with us. Know what? I'm droning. In summary: finally got the keys. Asked for the bags to be brought up. ROOM 804. REMEMBER THAT! Took another phone call before that happened. Room had great potential, except: both remotes-dead batteries, no sugar, sweetener, or stirrers for the coffee, heavily dented/dinged furniture - and the sofa bed! DISGUSTING! Oh my! We made the kids shower again in the AM. Also - two bath towels total in the bathroom. But that sofa bed!!!