Ratings based on 2,000 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Below average hotel, great location

Posted Dec 16, 2017
We over payed. But really this hotel looks nothing like thenpjctures. Bed is memory foam. The room was dusty. The room smelled old. Not worth the price we paid for this place. The staff was actually very nice and location was good for midtown - very close to eveything.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

OK hotel, in good location, but nothing special

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: good location. felt safe. staff was helpful
Cons: could spruce up common area
good location in mid Manhattan. OK hotel, but no special ambiance.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
I stayed one night at this hotel and was woken up several times by noise in the hallway. Sound insulation is poor. I stayed in a room on the second floor, by the stairway, and could hear people talking in the hotel lobby! I very much doubt I will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cozy Room

Posted Dec 14, 2017
Pros: Room was small and cozy which is my preference.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In midtown. Not much more to say. No encampments outside which doesn't appear to be a NYC issue like I expected.
I did not have any major issues while staying here. Check-in was prompt and everyone was friendly and courteous even though I'm from LA and dress overly-casual. I really liked the room which was small but very comfortable. I don't like rooms with too much free space because it makes me feel cold. The only thing I didn't like was that there was no heater in the room and the seal between the glass door and the glass wall on the shower had a gap large enough to allow some water to seep through and puddle on the floor. No big deal but maybe others would be annoyed. This was probably just an issue with my room in particular. Great hotel regardless!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Well suited hotel in a very convenient location

Posted Dec 14, 2017
This hotel served all my purposes and met all my requirements - great value! Very professional and friendly staff and the rooms(although small) we clean and beautifully furnished and decorated - this one will be on my radar next time I’m in NYC as it beat out most hotels I would typically stay at(Hilton/Marriott) in terms of value, by a long shot!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suburban Philadelphia

Our Favorite Spot to Stay in NY

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: Great location!
Location: We spent a lovely afternoon at the Morgan Library, just a few blocks away.
Comfortable and cozy, we always enjoy our stay at Hotel Chandler.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a disgrace!

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Not that it matters because apparently this place is being closed down to be converted into a homeless shelter any day, but I’m not sure how this hotel has a 4.5 star rating! We checked in right before midnight on Thursday night. The room was so tiny that we could barely walk around. The window coverings were disgusting, and we could hear an adult gagging and a baby crying in the hallway, but seemed like they were in top of us, at 6:30 in the morning. Also drilling right outside the dingy window began around the same time...before 7 in the morning. The bathroom was not very clean. Needless to say, we checked out by 10 that first morning! Horrible! So disappointed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Room not as expected. Hotel pretty run down. Room very small. I think we’re in Chinatown. Bed was comfy though and staff was super mice. So that goes a long way.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Rooms tiny. The suite is not two rooms as advertised. There is no wall between the suite and living area. The guest bed isn't a bed at all. It's a broken fold out sofa that has metal bars sticking through your back all night. Terrible overall experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria.UK

Great hotel with friendly, helpful staff

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, cosy atmosphere, clean rooms and refreshment in the foyer
Cons: some of the fabric on the chairs off the main foyer are looking a bit tired, but may be original
Location: Close to all the midtown attractions (Empire State building, the rock, Macy's etc) and just a short walk to all other amenities
Great location for attractions and shops, close to bus route and subway if you want to venture further. Staff are very friendly and help with anything. Although its an old small hotel (for New York)its rooms are very clean and cosy and the bathrooms are spotless. Didn't use the restaurant or bar due to the abundance of eateries and bars while we were out but looked well presented and stocked. would highly recommend this little piece of New York history to anyone