Ratings based on 5,224 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Good hotel, great location

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Our stay at the Hotel Chandler was lovely. It was our 25th anniversary and the staff had sent us chocolate covered strawberries and wine as their gift. So, thoughtful and yummy. Though the room was a bit small it was nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly and attentive to any need. The location was awesome. Just a couple of blocks from the subway, about a 10 minute walk to Times Square, and a lovely inexpensive breakfast place 1/2 a block away. When we would come into the lobby there were always cold fruit infused water waiting or coffee/ tea in the AM. We would definitely recommend this place, but rooms would be too small for families. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Hotel staff were incredibly friendly. Hotel was clean, quiet (for NYC!) and I felt safe there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Front desk service was bad and unfriendly. Employees not engaged or welcoming. Room was sub par and disappointing with horrible view. Not the VIP experience as advertised. Hotel lobby was dark and dull.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alexandria, virginia

Good location

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Nice vintage boutique hotel but some details matter more than others. The bed and pillows were not quality. The air conditioner was too noisey. This added up to an uncomfortable night. If this were fixed I would have given higher ratings. The room and bath were decorated nicely with quality accoutrements.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Check in was smooth and quick. Staff was very friendly and room was clean and well stocked. Room service food was good and there was a Bread and Butter store across the street for hot food and a variety of drinks, when needed. Although we received a letter in our door from the night manager apologizing for not offering any upgrades, as a gold member, we were good with our accommodations...we were taking our son to NYU for his Jr year. We rarely stay in our rooms in NYC. This one was good. No need for change.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Our only problem were the slowness of the elevators but it didn't detract from our trip. Great staff, great location!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Very welcoming, extremely friendly staff

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: -The staff -Welcoming, large and clean lobby/lounge -Comfortable bed -Excellent amenities as well as a wide range of toiletries and nice linens
Cons: Elevators - slow; digital screen showed wrong floor number at times Remove all carpet in all rooms for hygienic reasons
Location: Decent location Fairly close to subway - 5-10 minute walk depending on which station Wide range of restaurants and food options nearby
The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They stored our luggage free of charge when we arrived early, and also for a few hours on the day we left. Our air conditioner was broken on arrival, fixed promptly on the same day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Great hotel, great location and fabulous and friendly staff! Lots of charm, very comforable and in the city center..... will stay there again for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel but room had no light and very small

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Hotel staff was amazingly attentive but our room was 2 small double beds with one tiny window that had no view and no outside light coming in. A bigger room and a view would make it a great place to stay if you want to get a little bit away from all the crowds of Time Square. Mike the doorman:bellhop was amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, expensive

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: location, clean, bed was comfortable
Cons: Room is really small. The a/c wasn't working -took three calls to get someone there. Room service -ordered a salad, it took over an hour.
Location: close to Empire State bldg., Penn station
Rooms are really small. Hard to see two people in my room. Clean, but dark. You can hear hall noise. Restaurant is only open for breakfast. I ordered a single egg and it came on a salad plate - they had only white or wheat bread - no extras - it all feels small.. The a/c wasn't working in the room. People at the desk were very nice, but it took three calls before someone actually showed up. Location was perfect for working in midtown.