Ratings based on 447 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Breakfast n afternoon tea at club house is a great place to meet a variety of visitors
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I'm so happy that you enjoyed your trip to New York City and the Club room at the Hotel Elysee! We hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

The Elysee is a charmer.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
The Elysee is a charming hotel in a fabulous location. The rooms are nicely appointed and comfortable, the staff is welcoming and friendly, and the complimentary breakfast and happy hour are a big bonus. I highly recommend the Elysee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Dear Samantha, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the Expedia community. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London

Centrally located boutique hotel with charm

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms, good front desk staff.
Cons: One or two staff members could have been more accommodating. There also should be more room for toiletries in the bathroom.
Location: Close to Rockefeller Center and easy stroll to Central Park.
Great location close to major attractions. Very comfortable beds, nice breakfast and mostly friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Dear Msjackrussell2, Thank you so much for your review. I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your room and our Front Desk staff. I am sorry to hear that there were a few staff members that didn't live up to our high standard and I would like to hear about this in more detail. We do hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Ideal location & wonderful facility

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Would stay here every time. Friendly, clean & so convenient to everything. Enjoyed the breakfasts & happy hour. Included with room & abundance of staff & food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer! We hope to see you again! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for our anniversary trip!

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Elysee is situated between Park and Madison Avenues in mid-town in walking distance to Broadway Theaters, MoM A, Grand Central, Central Park and numerous fantastic restaurants. The smaller size of the hotel gives a more intimate feel in comparison to the large hotels near Times Square and taking into consideration of Elysee's more famous guests in the past it gives the hotel an aire of sophistication and class. The staff is fantastic and very accommodating. The afternoon wine and cheese in the Club Room provides an opportunity to meet other guests staying at the hotel and a great view to simply watch the people move up and down 54th Street. Make sure you make reservations to eat at the Monkey Bar as well as enjoy their cocktails - the Rohan Duck and Smoked Spaghetti are fantastic! Overall a great stay for our 20th wedding anniversary!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review and Happy Anniversary! I'm thrilled that we were able to help make your celebration a bit more special! We hope to be your home in NYC when you come back for another visit! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Mid town location close to 5th avenue Park Avenue

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel is relatively small but the amenities are great. It is like a club.
Location: Mid town between Park and Madison. Very close to Moma, Rockefeller, Saks and Central Park.
From the moment I arrived the staff could not be more pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Director of Sales & Marketing, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, Thank you so much for your lovely review! I'm so happy you enjoyed your trip to NY, the Hotel Elysee, the staff and the location! We hope to welcome you back again very soon! Warm regards, Cheryl Golde
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Helpful Staff

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Reminiscent of small hotels in France in both good and bad ways. The building is older with an assortment of rooms that vary greatly , and the lone elevator can be overwhelmed at busy times by the number of guests. On the plus side the staff could not have been nicer, and we greatly appreciated the complimentary continental breakfast and pre-dinner wine and cheese. In addition the location was just perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nokomis, FL

Posted May 26, 2017
The Elysee has been a short term haven for my family for many years. Staying at the hotel feels more like coming back to a NY apartment rather than a hotel at the end of a day. The location in mid-town is convenient to shopping, museums and transportation. The staff are always friendly and ready to help. In my limited experience with any problems, they are helpful and efficient with resolution. The decor has not changed since the 80's which on the one hand, I guess is part of the charm but a little updating would only enhance its appeal. Part of the updating it could use would be some convenient charging ports for electronics which in my most recent room involved crawling under the furniture for a plug. For this reason, I have given 4 stars rather than five.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2017
Missing towels had to get them from housekeeping my Sheets and pillow cases not in such good condition. Television impossible to see from bed. Maintenance hds to move armoir to make tv visable. Other than that room was comfortable and relatively clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bergdorf right around the corner

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The brx and happy hours are convenient for meeting fellow guests and there are some interesting people there. Upper middle class for the most part.
Cons: It's the Library chain, and you can tell this by the antique 780p low def TV cable service. Plus, rooms need more and accessible power outlets.
Location: Neighboring restaurants (upper East side) are very expensive, and not that good. Either get a carryout from Lexington Ave or go elsewhere.
This hotel is great for middle-aged people leading more introspective and sedate lives. The location is relatively quiet, the brx and happy hour are well provisioned by food and by all the main newspapers, and it is easy to strike up conversations. This hotel supplies what almost all others except B&B's do not - a social setting for meeting other people. If bars don't work for you, this is a nice alternative. Very convenient to high-end NYC shopping. Bed comfortable. Room decent size. Staff attentive. Bathtubs! Windows open.