Ratings based on 9,396 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to city

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The rooms are small, but the staff was kind, the rooms were clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in NYC

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The hotel has a great vibe. The location is perfect for Manhatten, the conveinence of time square with all the headaches. Salvation Taco is the bomb and as a guest at the hotel you don’t have to wait to enjoy the rooftop..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from La Prairie, QC

Nice and modern hotel at a great location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: It's location, price, cleanness.
Cons: I would appreciate more intimacy in the bathroom.
Very nice location. Many restaurants nearby. Check-in was a breeze. Room was modern and clean. Looked like a demo room at IKEA. Rooms are indeed very small, but when you're in New York, you only need it to sleep, change and shower so it's OK. The only thing I did not like was the fact that the bathroom is behind a frosted glass wall. So, when it comes to intimacy... Well there is pretty much none. I would not recommend this hotel to new couples that still need intimacy... Be careful at the bar, shots are 11$US a piece!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Tiny size but comfortable

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location was perfect.
Cons: The front desk staff could be a little more friendly. The concierge was FANTASTIC though with loads of information and super friendly.
The great location made up for the coziness of this hotel. Who needs a huge room anyway, when the Pod gave one all one needs. The friendly staff and clean and comfortable room were great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

This Hotel Saved Me!

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: It was close to the subway (3 - 4 blocks away from Grand Central,) so it conveniently located to the green line (4/5/6), 7 (takes you to the west side
Location: It is a couple of blocks away from Grand Central to the north, to the south you can walk to Herald Square (34th and Broadway).
Due to a series of events I ended up having no place to stay, and this was the only hotel available (within my budget) that was available last minute. I was surprised about how small the room, but it had what I needed (a comfortable queen sized bed and a shower). It also had shower amenities (shampoo, conditioner, liquid soap) in case you forgot them, and a tv if you wanted to relax.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not bad if you're on a budget.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The staff was super friendly. The restaurant attached is cool/fun rooftop chill place. The overall condition of the hotel was not bad, I can tell it had maybe just been repainted. My room was visibly clean but smelled like mildew and the bed a not built for comfort. There was a humming sound coming from somewhere but I just got used to it. I've stayed at way nicer hotels but like I said, it's great if you're on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Clean, Comfortable & Convenient

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Convenience to transportation and mid-town attractions. Modern appeal of the decor. The roof top bar is A+
Cons: The soap is a tiny thing that looks like a gumball. I just found it oddly small and it kept rolling of the edge of the sink. Picky comment, I'm sure
Location: Lots to do in mid-town. Great location for Grand Central Station and everywhere it can take you. Near enough to the Garden, shopping on 5th Ave, etc
Pod 39 is a great value and a good location. It's close to Grand Central Station where you can get transportation to anywhere you want to go in NYC. The rooms are tiny but reasonably priced for NY and are clean and comfortable. Amenities are on the bare minimum side....don't expect high end lotions, bottled water in the room, things like that....but there was sufficient quantities of the essentials (towels, soap, shampoo). The roof top bar is well worth the trip, even if you aren't staying at the hotel. The views from on top are lovely, the bar staff are friendly and efficient and the ambience is very comfortable. Overall, the experience was pleasant and I would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, kind staff but too small room

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Clean room and kind hotel staff
Hotel staff is very kind and the room is clean. But the room is too small. It is impossible to open two luggage bags.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey

Dud

Posted Oct 8, 2017
The room is not well designed which is a problem given the small size. Hotel does not have any good places to hang out - small lobby. Roof bar can be hectic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

A bit disapointing

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Cons: Storage-the rooms are tight, there were two of us with our own luggage. one bag had to be on the floor and we had to step over it to go to bathroom.
Location: Very walkable
I think you need to be a bit younger to enjoy this place. The location is good for walking towards transit and is close to mid town attractions. The rooms themselves, are for showering and sleeping. That was our disappointment at this hotel. There was water ion the floor of our room and after being inspected by their engineer, we were told not to use the shower as there was an issue with the pipe work. During evening and morning trips to the bathroom our feet were soaked as there was enough water on the floor that it wouldn't dry. They were unable to switch our room and we had to leave without a shower for the day. This made the day be a little uncomfortable as we arrived at the hotel after a ful day of activities and travel. After asking for a new room in the morning, they told us we needed to check out and they wouldn't be able to assign a new room until 3 pm at check in and store our bags at their locker until we came back after another day of activities.