Ratings based on 13,341 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

A week in the big apple

Posted Oct 18, 2017
We arrived early, check-in happened within the hour. Front desk and bell men were friendly and helpful. Unit was clean and, as expected, very small, but well laid out, comfortable, and quiet, the big surprise was how nice the roof top deck was. Lots of interesting restaurants in the neighbourhood. Convenient to the subway, close by a number of attractions we were interested in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Exactly where we needed to be

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: the staff, the atmosphere
Location: central park, lots of fun restaurants, easy access to the buses and subway
I was worried at first because what I thought was a fun room did not have a bathroom in it-so read the descriptions to make sure you have the amenities you need-this was my fault. However, the staff found me the room I needed and it was perfect. Not to mention the Gentleman at the front desk was so sweet and helpful! and the concierge service was on point every time-this was a great spot and put us at easy access to all of the places we wanted to see. The hotel is incredibly cool, the folks are absolute sweet hearts, and you are missing out if you do not give it a try.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
I loved it: cozy and comfortable. Excellent location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Value and comfort

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Thoughtful Minimalism satisfies today's traveler much more than competition among upscale hotels to shower guests with needless extravagances. Kudos to the POD Hotels !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Booked last minute, checked in and was able to get a room on the 14th floor, right in front of the elevators. There was a lot of foot traffic and you can hear everything that goes on in the hallways, doors slamming
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke

Good hotel near the center of Manhattan

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Ideally located near the middle of Manhattan with good access to all major areas of New York. located near the main Subway system for easy getting around and to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, Oh.

I was searching for value and neighborhood..

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Ambience, coffee shop, desk staff, VALUE.
Cons: Well, you can't expand the room size. I needed @ 30 more sq ft.... I think your leadership is on IT!
Location: It was just a lively setting; loved the shul across . I know the front desk has to be "careful;
Great concept--- bunk beds actually work.. I am a South Carolinian ---I really am a 12' ceiling kinda woman--- though living in wide open Midwest! If you can acclimate to 100 sq ft---- it really works. Your staff is smooth, unflappable and helpful for my lost wallet crisis. I will ALWAYS research the POD system --- and the 12 guest rooms-4 bathrooms per floor was never an issue. I never waited for one, much less never crossed path w/ another bathroom user. I start switching with an above $200. room...I love a value.... eureka! Keep expanding! And----thanks Pod 51, Mid September.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse, NY

Convenient, friendly, great location, good deal

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness, comfort, price - pretty much everything!
Cons: A way to COOL DOWN the bathrooms, more info about the cafe (unclear where/when)
Location: Lots of food options nearby for sit down or grab-and-go. 1.5 blocks from Lexington Ave and great shopping, 2-3 blocks from the 6, E, and M trains.
I've stayed at the Pod51 a few times, and it's always been a great stay. The rooms are small, yes, but they're no more than you need for one or two people. The beds and everything are comfortable and there are SO MANY OUTLETS! What hotel has that? There are also individual TVs and a desk to make you feel a little more civilized. The price is pretty good for a 1-twin bed room compared to trying to find a single king or queen room elsewhere, and once you get into the bunk bed or other rooms, they're a great shared price! Also a VERY convenient location to Lexingington Ave, E/M/6 trains. Bathrooms: There are 4 shared bathrooms on a floor. In my experience they are all well maintained, and no more than 2 of them have ever been occupied at once when I've stayed here. They do get a little hot (the rooms are air conditioned but the halls and bathrooms are not) so don't plan on putting all your layers back on in the bathrooms. And remember your towels are in your room, not the bathrooms! But there are still toiletries in the showers and soap for the sink. Shared spaces: The roof deck has an INCREDIBLE view of the surrounding area, and usually isn't very crowded - lots of chairs to sit and read or hang out. The lobby has a small cafe with pastries, etc. and lots of seating and charging ports. There's a concierge desk, although I've never seen anyone sitting at it. There's also a courtyard garden space if heights aren't your thing. All of these spaces are also well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but Share bathroom is kind of a bummer

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: The location for me was great and the price was very reasonable for NY
Cons: Clean the bathrooms more often
Very nice location and a clean facility. The room was small but had all I needed and it was clean. I just found the shared bathroom a bit of a thing to get used to and the bathrooms were not that clean after a few guests used the showers. Overall it was a good place for the price and I would recommend it if you don't ind shared bathrooms. Cheers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Please don't stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pleae don't stay away! Everything was wsy too perfect. I hope the Pod doesn't get too discovered I want to come back early & often