Ratings based on 1,613 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lima, Peru

Well located on 57th street between Madison and L

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The reception is dark and small. The lobby located in 2nd floor with restaurant under remodeling. Is a Hotel just to use the room and thats it. The room with one bed is too small. I had to move to a room with two beds which was ok in size.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stuck behind an elevator

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Good location.
Cons: The hotel is very tired and the are rooms need updating. it looks like an old apartment building that was converted into a hotel -- but not well done.
We checked in at dinner time and had to run out immediately to a dinner. When we got back at around 11:00, we realized when we got in bed that our room was right behind one of the elevators. There was a terrible noise from the elevator (metal scraping against metal), but when we called downstairs there was no answer for over a half hour. We finally got a hold of someone but we were told the hotel was sold out and that there was nothing they could do about it. Totally unacceptable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Customer Service, Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback, Valued Guest. We're disappointed you had such challenges during your time with us. We regret the problems you had with the sound levels in the rooms and that your stay didn't exceed your expectations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward. We do hope you give us another opportunity to share a more positive experience with you soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Great to hear about the new renovations. Would stay again once it is done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Very good stay! Very kind staff and comfortable hotel! Great location! I would recommend this to everyone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and friendly staff

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: It's a bit old but is being refurbished. For the price, it is great.
We were only here for two nights and one whole day. The room was comfortable and the price was reasonable. I compared quite a few other hotels. The desk set us up with a $40 car service to La Guardia which was really helpful. The location was great. We liked Pulperia across th street and we were close to Central Park and the History museum. Th shopping nearby is great and we went to American Eagle and Bloomingdales right down the street. We rented Citibikes for the day with a rack two streets back and it was great. We rode the bikes all around the city from the hotel-to Chelsea-and it was really accessible. Thanks,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Good location

Posted Sep 16, 2017
The hotel during our stay was in a restoration... so no breakfast available ... no restaurant.... small lobby.... but stuffing whise was not bad ... i recommend it but after spring 2018 as they said they will progress in renovations....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & staff

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I was allowed to check in early 11 am, and cgeck out late 2 pm which was really comfortable. Hotel location cant be bet Netflex TV was a very nice touch Room little bit dated but vlean and comfortable Bed very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Excellent stay and great location

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Roof top deck under construction. That was kept hidden from us when we booked. We were looking forward to enjoying that part
We came for an extended weekend and wanted to be close to Central Park. Location was great and very reasonable. One drawback was not being made aware that rooftop deck was under construction. Would have been nice to know when we booked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

I'll be back . . .

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I booked this hotel with trepidation. I'm more a fan of boutique hotels, unaffiliated with big, identifiable chains. I was made aware that there was some construction, which factored in to my reduced nightly rate. After checking the Bed Bug report and finding no recent complaints, I made my reservation. The Hotel is centrally located in midtown on 57 Street and Lexington, only a short walk to subway connections. Rapid access to restaurants by foot; Central Park is a stone's throw. Highest end Fifth Avenue shopping is also nearby. Check-in was expedited by exceptionally pleasant staff. My room was notably clean, reasonably large, and quiet, with fresh sheets on a queen size bed, plenty of closet space, and an exceptional bathroom with a big, deep tub. A functional and unobtrusive desk and chair, acceptably large TV and a small couch rounded out the appointments. Views are regional buildings. Air conditioning kept the room comfortable to chilly. My only criticism is lack of WiFi. Internet access required an additional and exorbitant daily fee. Likewise, the observably limited amount of channels in the TV, though there was 3-4 HBO channels. But, who visits NYC to watch TV? The entry, lobby and elevators are oddly but enjoyably Deco retro, with peacefully inviting decor. The construction was of zero consequence; no notable noise, no observable dust and absolutely no added inconvenience. Overall, my visit was very, very good. However, my experience was nearly marred from the
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manhatten new york

Great hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We had a great stay it was a shame we couldn't look at the views from the roof top terrace. Close walking distance from time square, great stay in manhatten.