Ratings based on 1,462 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithfield VA

Beautiful hotel, perfect location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We always try to stay at The Benjamin when we go to NYC. The hotel is beautiful, clean, small, reasonably priced with a friendly staff. We love the late night bar at the hotel but most of all it's the location at 50th & Lex that brings us back every time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Helpful staff.
Cons: Better noise insulation. More modern, quieter aircon.
Location: Lexington Ave, NYC.
The street-noise in the room was intrusive and not what I'd expect from a 4* hotel. One lift was out of order for a full day. The bed was cramped up against one wall, resulting in no nightstand/bedside table on that side. The room aircon was an older floor unit and very loud - the fan was either fully on or off - and in August it was needed most of the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Spacious room and bath with comfortable beds. Clean, high end detail. Helpful staff, steps from public transportation and a variety of restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra Australia

First time in New York

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: Proximity to everything was great
Cons: Stop the $30 per day price gouge - it's not necessary and just appears to be ripping off tourists
Location: Most things are within walking distance
We loved NYC and the Benjamin. Although the price gouge of $30 per day for nothing on top of the room charge was a little hard to accept
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Aus

Perfect Stay

Posted Jul 26, 2017
From the moment we arrived we could not have been more happy with everything about our stay. A big thank you to Gina in concierge who helped us with all our New York questions Was a delight to deal with Wonderful stay Thank you The Benjamin
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your visit to The Benjamin. I am glad you were able to enjoy comforts of our spacious rooms and our staff was able to provide you with quality and genuine service. I am fortunate to work with amazing people here all committed to the maximizing our guests experience. I will certainly share your compliments with Gina. Thank you again for the great review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit New York. All the best,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Old Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The location is good -- two blocks from St. Patrick Cathedral/Rockefeller Center.
Cons: Update the rooms! All of them! That will probably take care of most problems with the rooms.
Location: The hotel is about 2 blocks away from St. Patrick Cathedral/Rockefeller Center. It is about 8 blocks away from Times Square, definitely walkable.
It's an old hotel, which you will see, smell and hear as soon as you enter your room. (If the hotel has updated rooms, we were not given one of them.) It has a musty smell, the overall décor is old-fashioned, and the floor creaks when you walk on it. We were on the 5th floor. I did not get any sense of luxury here. The size of the room itself was very nice for New York City, and I keep telling myself that was why I chose to stay at The Benjamin. There were 4 of us in the room -- myself, my husband, teenage son and 10-year-old son. We got a 1-bedroom suite with sofa bed. We didn't really use the kitchen much, but the small ref. is full of the hotel's drinks; we just squeezed our own food/drinks inside. It was nice to have a microwave as well. Another thing I did not like was the lack of bright lighting -- I don't like dark rooms so I had to open the window shades. Wish there were some sheer curtains, though. Probably would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the detailed review regarding your experience at The Benjamin. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences and appreciate your patience and understanding. We have reviewed with our executive team and will address accordingly. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back as I am sure your next experience will be a great one. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norwood, MA

Terrific hotel in a great mid-town location

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: #1 it is scrupulously clean! Bedding, bathroom, everything! You are always graciously welcomed even when you check in at midnight!
Cons: Grab bars and tub mats would be helpful for older guests in the bathroom. The National Restaurant is too expensive and not 'family friendly'.
Location: The Benjamin's mid-town location makes it perfect for theater, shopping and museums. Doormen will arrange for a cab or car to take you anywhere!
Have stayed at The Benjamin before and it never disappoints! Travelling this time with my 90 year old mother. Staff were unfailingly kind and accommodating when assisting my mother. Valet parking is a huge plus in mid-town, it's pricey, but your car is safe and ready to go when you are - guest service is excellent!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you for the detailed review. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back. All the best,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Nice cosy hotel, with spacious rooms and clean. However, limited activities and staff could be more helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your visit to The Benjamin. I am glad you were able to enjoy comfort of our spacious room, hotel location and our staff was able to provide you with quality and genuine service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Classy hotel in heart of NYC

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Celebrated anniversary and just wanted quiet place, Nailed it! Comfortable room, helpful staff, nice bar. Excellent weekend getaway!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
thank you for sharing your experience on Expedia. I'm delighted to read that you spent such a joyous occasion with us. Furthermore I'm pleased that we were able exceed your expectations. We look forward to the opportunity to invite you back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice location.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Friendly staff. Small lobby. Very expensive parking; look for parking elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by dujuan, Hotel Management
thank you for taking the time to post your review on Expedia. I'm happy to see that our staff was able to meet your expectation. We hope to have the opportunity to invite you back.