Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Syracuse NY.

Nice Hotel with a Great Location

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: The location was excellent.
Location: It was on Lexington Ave within walking distance of Fifth Avenue and the subway.
My stay was very good. The hotel was in a good location and the room was a nice size and comfortable. There were a lot of restaurants nearby and with the subway close, you could get anywhere in NYC very easily.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Good, affordable tourist hotel centrally located

Posted Dec 5, 2017
Room was spacious as was bathroom. Clean and quiet. Shabby, but in a charming way. Bed was super comfortable; better than in the high end hotel I was in before (for work). Bookshelf with “left” books in different languages a plus. Needs better hot water. Also not great for work; needs better plugs for phones/computers, and a desk you can fit your legs under. But it’s not a business hotel. For a comfortable, safe, well-located tourist stay, it’s great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Conveniently located

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Conveniently located for getting about but not ideal for a holiday base; Greenwich Village and thereabouts are nicer areas with more character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location & ease of atmosphere
Cons: Update a bit
Location: Near Rockefeller Center. Not too far from Central Park
Hotel staff very friendly. Convenient to activities, stores, restaurants, garages
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Roger Smith Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: The staff and the character of the hotel. The decor was oldy worldy and tasteful.
Cons: Nothing I can think of
Location: Rockefeller Centre, Times Square, the Chrysler Building, Macys (for shopping), etc. etc.
My friend and I arrived late on Thanksgiving Evening but the hotel staff checked us in quickly and efficiently and made us feel right at home from the beginning. An added bonus was a 'breakfast bar' in the lobby where guests (and their friends) could help themselves to pots of yoghurt and granola. This saved us the aggravation of going out for breakfast and meant we could start our sightseeing earlier, with sufficient sustenance to get us through until lunch. The hotel has extremely nice decor, was very quiet and now I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in New York (and I have been a regular visitor for many years).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Good area to visit NYC everything is so convenient. Time square is a few blocks away. Everyone in the hotel is super friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brewton, Al

Family Thanksgiving trip

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: The comfortable rooms and unhurried pace.
Cons: Nothing major. Maybe a couple of more chairs in the lobby and a couple of extra plugs for charging phone etc in the rooms.
Location: You can walk to Grand Central or up 5th Ave to Central Park.
We felt at home at this hotel. We walked up a few blocks and had a great view of the parade. You can’t beat the location as it was close to everywhere we wanted to go. We had 9 people in our group of all ages and everyone loved it here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Convenient location, close to grand central. clean rooms and friendlt staff. great coffee in the room. free greek yogurt with granola and apples! excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville TN

Very Quaint Hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2017
The hotel was convenient to all the places I wanted to visit. I loved it, and the staff was so nice. I will definitely revisit in the near future. Thanks carita
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Haddam, CT

Clean hotel; air/heating system needs work

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, room comfort
Cons: Air conditioning system
Staff is friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable, if old-fashioned. However, the air conditioner was very loud, and the piping for either the air conditioner or the radiator let out a periodic screech that was impossible to sleep through.