Ratings based on 20,669 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
The room had a musty smell. Otherwise stay was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Located in a very good spot

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The rooms r extremely small and dated. The bathroom smelled like urine
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Slightly dated hotel in good position.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The location, bed linen and staff.
Cons: Bathrooms renovated. Lift still have problems.
Location: Great location right by 5th Avenue and Grand Central station which has great shops and brilliant Oyster bar and fresh food market.
Having read the reviews before booking I think most of them reflect accurately the hotel. It has an impressive entrance/lobby but it is a shame that the breakfast/coffee area overlooking it has plastic cups and plates, like being in a cheap Cafe as massive of rubbish created. First room we checked into was awful location at the back at the very bottom of a light well very noise inside and out a/c. They did manage to move us to a better room and were very friendly about doing that. Bed very comfy, and nice quality linen. Bathroom small and functional but very dated with a bath having been over painted which was flaking off. But location was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room very small- barely enough room to turn around in- would have expected more for the price. Elevators scarce and crowded
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location midtown

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location close to Grand Central and subway stops. Room and bathroom small and a bit dated, but comfortable. Slow elevator during rush hours. Great old classic city feel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bedford.

Good position in Midtown

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Hotel needs a refurb throughout as the rooms and corridors are very dated and tired looking,reception and lobby always seemed to be manic and entrance area always congested, we were on the 18th (top)floor and you could hear traffic and pedestrians quite clearly,air con was extremely noisy and couldn't be left running overnight so room became quite stuffy,bathroom was cramped, basic and old fashioned but clean. The lifts were very slow during peak periods and even though there are 5/6 only ever seemed to to be 2/3 In use. As mentions the position of the Roosevelt is it's best feature as you can walk to almost all of the major sites from here,the concierge's were very helpful and the room maids polite. Would I stay here again....probably not.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Good location

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Perfectly adequate hotel but more of a 3* than a 4*, bathroom could do with an update, some elevators were not working and when one did arrive it was usually packed. 10-15 minute wait is unacceptable when you're on the 14th floor. A couple of times had to use the stairs out of frustration! Didn't try breakfast as at $28 each would certainly not have been worth it even with the 10% discount offered regardless of the quality or quantity of food. Not the biggest of double beds but comfortable enough, the room was adequate for all the time we spent in it, was really just somewhere to sleep at night. It was one of the cheapest deals on offer at time of booking so I guess you get what you pay for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel in the Center of New York

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Very good stay and I liked the fact its an old and very decorative Hotel I think the rooms they need an update particularly the bathroom Overall a nice experience in New York
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Not Happy Anniversary

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location to the theater.
Cons: Total renovation!
The initial room assigned was so small we couldn't even get around the bed in the room. They had the nerve to call it a cozy king room. Not for a husband that's 6'2" (280 lbs). We were moved to another room however, it was a double bed room instead of king bed which was our requested room. It was our wedding anniversary and we were only in New York for one night. The air condition unit in our room make loud noises all night and we barely got any sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

So many more nicer hotels for same price

Posted Oct 14, 2017
In real need of renovations Charger was stolen by cleaning staff right out of the plug No complimentary umbrellas, tea or coffee Very high mandatory wi-fi and gym fee Convenience store very small, not even magazines Beds very comfortable and clean Very good location
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2017 by A. Fernandez Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Natalya- Thank you for taking the time to post your review and let us know where we can improve. I am delighted to know you were pleased with our guestroom, but disappointed to hear you did not have a good experience overall.. Although we continue to receive many compliments for our central location, we do acknowledge that it is time for some updates. Thanks for being our guest. We hope to have the opportunity to make a better impression on a future stay.