Ratings based on 3,020 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty and old

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pee stains and dried up contact on back of our toilet. The hotel is in poor conditions and looks dirty and shabby. The worst W hotel I have ever stayed at and other ppl I met in hotel said same thing. Disappointed. Bathrooms are disgusting...shower drains are clogged etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Leslie, It is always appreciated when valued guests provide a review as it allows us to see what is adored during a stay, or where we have an opportunity to elevate the guest experience. We regret from your comments that elements of your room fell short and hope that you called this to our attention and allowed us the opportunity to rectify what was appears to be a room not completely prepared for a new guest. Please accept our apologies, your feedback has been passed to our Style Department to ensure that our scrupulous standards are applied for the enjoyment of all guests. We thank you and hope you will return to give us another opportunity to impress with a true W experience on a future visit to NYC. All the best, W New York
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

dirty room but great location

Posted Sep 5, 2017
when we checked-in we were given a dirty room. when we were given a new room there were stains on bathroom walls and floor (looked like dried puke). thermostat in the room didn't work and it was very warm. mentioned it to the staff at the front desk and nothing was done about it. besides that the hotel was in a great location..we walked to Rockefeller center, radio city and 5th Ave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello shelby, Greetings from NYC! It was our joy to welcome you and yours and we thank you for sharing your review. We are thrilled that our outstanding location impressed, and will be sharing your other comments with our Style Department to ensure that our scrupulous standards are being maintained for the enjoyment for all of our guests. We thank you once more and hope to welcome you back on a future visit to New York. All the best, W New York
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Location-location-location, but needs RESTORATION

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: LOCATION
Cons: Maintainance, cleanliness, staff attitute.
Location: Midtown, Grand Central, 5th Avenue, St Patricks Cathedral, Park Avenue
This hotel is located in the heart of midtown. For that I would give 5 stars. However the hotel is too old and due to very low rates they offer they can not afford adequate maintainance (I guess). The RUGS all over the hotel (in public areas and rooms) are not spotless. It's a shame a great brand like W keeps this hotel int such a bad condition. Value for the price paid is VERY GOOD, but I would not hesitate paying extra for a better maintainance schedule.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello CLS, It was our pleasure to host you and we thank you for your review. We are overjoyed that our exceptional location impressed, but regret that other aspects of your stay fell short. All guest feedback is appreciated, we thank you once more and hope that we will be able to welcome you again on a future visit to NYC. All the best, W New York
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

Good hotel in midtown

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Very convenient location in midtown close to subway station and other amenities. We stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and it was much better. Some things need to be updated in the rooms, like the carpets, the shower was a little sprinkle ( impossible to wash long hair).
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello delia, Greetings from NYC! It was a joy to welcome you back and we thank you for your review. We are delighted that our enviable location continues to impress. Your addition comments will be reviewed internally, we thank you for sharing. We hope it will not be another 6 years before we see you again. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central to everything, nice hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Nice hotel staff and a perfect location smack dab in the middle of everything. Walking distance to central park and other tourist attractions. Clean room and a comfy bed. The hotel is surrounded by buildings so you won't get a city view from your room. Lots of construction going on in the lobby for special events.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Greetings from New York City. We thank you for sharing your experience and are thrilled that your time with us was such a joy. We hope you will return to join us again when next passing this way. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Good location, close to subway and close to all major places
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Our thanks for sharing your outstanding review, we are overjoyed that your stay was such a delight. We hope you will return to settle in with us again soon. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Fairly good stay for New York standards , great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, We are grateful for your review and delighted that you enjoyed our enviable location during your stay. We hope you will return to join us again soon. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
The staff was great walking through the door and went out of there way to provide ultimate customer service. From the early check in, to recommendations for lunch & dinner. I would definitely stay again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Cheree, There are many reasons that guests return again and again through our doors, not least our Heavenly beds and our thoughtful amenities, but we know it is our exceptional Talent who set us truly apart, so when a guest recognizes their efforts we are all overjoyed. We thank you for sharing such a warm review and hope you will return to settle in with us again soon. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great hotel in New York

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, clean and maintained well.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: I went to the street fairs and walked everywhere. It was a great location.
This hotel was far better than the Grand Hyatt. If you have a choice choose the W. You will not be disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Dawn, Greetings from NYC! It was our pleasure to host you and we thank you for providing such an outstanding recommendation. We are thrilled that your stay was such a joy, and that we have made a new friend. Your appreciation of our amenities and our outstanding location is a delight to us all, and we hope it will not be too long before we have the pleasure of your company again. All the best, W New York
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Location is great, room interior needs upgrade

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Ok. First off his was our first NYC experience so we were busy tourists. First night. We checked in and hit the city. Came back late to a diseased looking bathroom. The wallpaper at nasty stains on it and the toilet had feces on the side and on the side floor near the tub. There was hair on the floor as well. I instantly charged to the phone to report it and go to front desk for room change. After 3 more room changes due to nasty looking seat cushions, to dog hair in bathroom and tub we settled into another room only to have the maid have to come and disinfect once again dog hair and the toilet and such. The night manager was tired and not really smiling but he got us another room nevertheless. The next day Delroy the manager contacted us and offered us free breakfast every day and pedicures. Very nice gesture. But what we needed was free night stay versus being force to eat hotel food versus going into the city to eat the different places. He was very nice and accommodating and very apologetic. We ate twice in the dining area those 4 days. He had us set up for a free pedicure. The person who did my foot was Russian. She got me tea and then made my water hot. She was taking pills in front of me and wasn't really into doing my pedicure like it was beneath her to do it. I actually received the worse pedicure ever. She didn't remove my cuticle or dead skin on my feet good. She rubbed lotion on my legs without any pressure. She just rubbed it on. For 1 min and 45 each leg.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello T, We always appreciate it when guests take the time to provide a review as it gives us the opportunity to see what they adored about their stay. As you discovered, our location is exceptional, but we regret to see that there were issues with your room. We apologize for the inconvenience and your comments have been passed to our Style Department to ensure that our scrupulous standards are maintained for the enjoyment of all guests. We thank you for providing your review and hope you will return on a future visit to allow us another opportunity to impress. Until then. All the best, W New York