Ratings based on 2,594 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
It was not a hotel it was a time share I paid & 400$ a night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
New contemporary remodel, easy walk to Central Pk, easier walk to Grand Central.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Cons: Clearer information on what this "hotel" was, and what it was not. This was an awfully expensive option for a place that does not have amenities.
I stayed for two nights. After a long work day, I returned to my room on the second night to find that it had not been cleaned. When I complained to the hotel staff they told me this was not a hotel, rather it was a time-share facility, and they did not have maid service. If this had been clear on the Expedia site, I would have opted for another hotel. Very disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Wyndham Extra Holidays, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing superior accommodations. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

"We don't clean rooms or provide fresh towels"

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
According to the concierge/"help" desk, this is not a hotel. I discovered this when I complained that, after a long day, I arrived back to my room and discovered it had not been cleaned. The "help desk" told me it's their policy not to clean rooms, make beds or provide clean towels for the duration of the stay as The Wyndham on 45th St is a time share, not a hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Wyndham Extra Holidays, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. Our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing superior accommodations. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. We apologize for any confusion and will work to better communicate this through additional channels in the future. We are sorry for your experience and greatly value your feedback.
3 out of 5
by Marie

Good location , too pushy of sales team

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Most staff was friendly but my check in process had to be scattered because I arrived in an early flight . Which I do understand but things were missed. I was not told check out was t 10:00 am . my room was not cleaned when I stated that I got some push back attitude back . With the 10 am check out on an Easter Sunday when asked what was the policy for staying a bit later ( we had tickets for mass at St Patricks at 10 :30 but had to be there by 10:00 ) very rudely was told $100 per hour of delay. SO russhing thru packing etc to leave and make it to that iconic mass was quite challenging. Oh and the pushing constantly to by timeshare was risiculous even after I told them I was not interested.
3 out of 5
by David

A timeshare, not a conventional hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very convenient to the office. I loved this. But it is run down, very tired. Renovations are underway, but not in any part of the hotel I saw. The lounge they tout is rather small, but its veranda provides decent views from the 33rd (I think) floor.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible Experience

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Rooms need to be redone
Hotel needs to be renovated the rooms are really bad and dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Wyndham Extra Holidays, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with your room during your stay. This is certainly not our Wyndham standards. We are currently undergoing renovations, but we will certainly have our maintenance team look into these issues to eliminate any future occurrences. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Inconspicuous hotel in convenient location.

Posted Jan 4, 2017
This hotel was located on the east side of midtown, close to Grand Central Station and the United Nations Center. While the lobby was tiny, the room by New York standards was spacious. And there's a club room on the 33rd floor where guests can gather in groups in a room with a fireplace or on a balcony with a great view. My only complaint was that we booked it because it was an Expedia VIP hotel. When we have done this in the past, we have received some additional perk. This time the clerk didn't know what it was.