Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marcos, CA

Neighborhood Feel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: the clam ambiance and homey atmosphere
Cons: food choices for breakfast
Location: Great location as stated before. Close to many amenities.
This B&B is right next to Midtown. It's close to bars, coffee shops, restaurants. In a residential neighborhood, it's pleasant to walk and feels like I'm part of the neighborhood.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Peaceful and Quiet!

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Great place to stay!! Super quiet and relaxing! Close to shops and restaurants. Bring comfortable walking shoes and explore!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Amber House is located a quick 15 minute walk from the Capitol and a 10 minute walk from Sutter's Fort. The room was very comfortable and quiet, and breakfast each morning was delicious. I'd highly recommend, and I hope to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great breakfast

Posted Aug 23, 2017
In town for doctor appt. this is a good location with restaurants nearby. Staff was friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2017 by Dan Wickstrom, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind response, we are so happy you enjoyed yourself and look forward to hosting you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

A pleasant place

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: No question, the staff, the service, the cleanliness of the place
Cons: Can't think of anything.I can't thank enough the staff that was there during my one day stay with my wife
Location: Location is near downtown Sacramento, there are a few nice restaurants and cafes not far away from there
First time in over 30 years that I went to a bed and breakfast. I based my decision on Expedia's customer reviews. It was better than I expected. The house might be old, but everything in side was clean. The towels were whiter than white. the staff was pleasant. the service was excellent. The small touches of their service make you smile
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Dan Wickstrom, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind review!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Andrew

THE place to stay in LB

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
This place is an absolute gem. Great charm and ambiance, people are friendly and helpful, and awesome location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you so much, we always love hearing positive feedback!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful!!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: We loved the overall ambience and the attention to detail in everything.
Location: The Amber House Inn has a great location, right in the downtown area, close to lots of good restaurants and cute shops.
What a great place! Our room was lovely and sweetly decorated. We especially enjoyed the two-person jacuzzi tub. Plus they had HBO so we were able to watch Game of Thrones in the comfy robes they provided. Everyone was very friendly and nice. The bed was a dream. And the breakfast was amazing! (Mmmm banana pancakes!). If we are ever back in Sacramento this is definitely where we'll be staying! We came to Sacramento to visit an old friend and Amber House Inn turned our trip into a romantic oasis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Dan Wickstrom, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, we always love hearing positive feedback!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Day in Sacramento

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
This was a very quaint and cute bed and breakfast. The breakfast was amazing! The one issue we had was that the small window air conditioner in the room we had could not keep up with the 100+ degree heat - so it was a bit warm. Would stay again (in cooler weather) :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. We have since rectified the ac unit in the window as it was low on refrigerant and is now able to aid in the warm weather. We added this unit to our central AC throughout the whole building.
5 out of 5
by James

Where DO they get those towels?

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful. We had to arrive late and had a lockbox with our key and instructions to our room. Fresh coffee and OJ in the am and a wonderful shower with the softest towels EVER!!! Great breakfast, lovely dining room and pleasant staff. Overall tremendous!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017
Thank you so much, we always love hearing positive feedback!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pamdale, Ca

Great staff, wonderful breakfast

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: Better Wi-Fi in some parts of the room signal was very weak. NO HD tv!
Location: Residential, not super close to retail stores but not far, a little walking and there's plenty to see.
First time at bed and breakfast facility, in the listing it appeared to be hotel. Location is very quiet residential. Would stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Dan Wickstrom, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. You must have been in our Musicians Manor, coinsidently we are getting high speed internet beginning of next week. We already have high speed in our main building, but found its definitely time to expand. Sorry for any inconvenience.