Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Wonderful!!

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: We loved the overall ambience and the attention to detail in everything.
Location: The Amber House Inn has a great location, right in the downtown area, close to lots of good restaurants and cute shops.
What a great place! Our room was lovely and sweetly decorated. We especially enjoyed the two-person jacuzzi tub. Plus they had HBO so we were able to watch Game of Thrones in the comfy robes they provided. Everyone was very friendly and nice. The bed was a dream. And the breakfast was amazing! (Mmmm banana pancakes!). If we are ever back in Sacramento this is definitely where we'll be staying! We came to Sacramento to visit an old friend and Amber House Inn turned our trip into a romantic oasis.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Dan Wickstrom, Hotel Management
Thank you so much, we always love hearing positive feedback!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pamdale, Ca

Great staff, wonderful breakfast

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff and breakfast
Cons: Better Wi-Fi in some parts of the room signal was very weak. NO HD tv!
Location: Residential, not super close to retail stores but not far, a little walking and there's plenty to see.
First time at bed and breakfast facility, in the listing it appeared to be hotel. Location is very quiet residential. Would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BayArea, CA

Lovely B&B not too far from the Capital!

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Quaint and lovely B&B that was so relaxing to stay in! Customer service was excellent, liquid refreshments ready for the guests right when you walk in with cute roaring 20's era music playing in the front room. Stayed in the Emily Dickinson room complete with flat screen, super comfy bed, fireplace and updated private bathroom with hot tub. Fresh hot coffee and full breakfast included and waiting for us in the morning outside our door. Got a lil too warm in the morning when they turned the AC off so just used the in room fan. Besides that... Loved it! Can't wait to stay again sometime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great find!

Posted May 18, 2017
When I travel for business I don't typically stay at a Bed & Breakfast, but this was a treat. Friendly atmosphere, nice comforts (cookies at my door when I got back from a long evening), even a bathrobe in my room. But the best part was having coffee arrive at my door precisely at 6:30am as promised, and then delicious eggs benedict also delivered to my room at exactly the time I requested the night before. A nice change from the typical corporate hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
A great B&B in a quiet neighborhood. No place to work on a computer is the only downside, but the WiFi was quite functional
5 out of 5
by Jamie

Loved it!

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was beautiful and comfortable. The staff was great and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mooresville, nc

Excellent beautiful room!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Perfect spot, close to excellent restaurants and bars. Breakfast is amazing!!
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Nice Victorian Inn

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent leafy street. Beautiful room and building. Great service and delicious breakfast-especially the pancakes with strawberries and bananas. Nice Victorian inn.
5 out of 5
by lisa

Uptown in the Downtown

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
My companion and I stayed in the Bach room in the secondary House and it was amazing! We were there on a Sunday night and Venita was our Innkeeper. She was awesome from the get-go and we absolutely enjoyed our visit because of her. She was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area and extremely hospitable. The house was very cozy, yet we had our privacy. We were respectful of the other guests and they were respectful of us as well. the rooms are right next to each other so the noise level is on the quiet side. The only problem we encountered was finding some place within walking distance to dine after 10 pm. I don't recommend the Bento Box for dining but their bar was good. I look forward to returning to The Amber House to try one of the Deluxe Rooms, hopefully trying them all in time. Overall, it was an exceptional stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
For a b&b I expected the staff to be more social and friendly. I had a morning meeting and they weren't willing to accommodate bringing me some oatmeal a bit earlier thanormal eben theough they brought coffee at that time requested. The tub didn't appear to have a drain plug and a sign stated for guests not to take it. Later the staff said it worked but by then I had checked out. Bed was really nice but likely wouldn't stay again.