Ratings based on 492 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Is a very old hotel, have the minimum for everything,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

PLEASE NEVER STAY HERE

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Shut it down and call the fumigators
Location: Its in a good location very central to 42nd St/Broadway.
We stayed in room 9. The hallway & our room had an overpowering smell of urine. The entire floor was sticky & the bed had hairs in which predated our arrival. The crockery, cutlery & electrical were all dirty & sticky. There were another 50 or so things I could complain about but don't want to detract you from these main points. This was the grubbiness room I had ever stayed in 45 years and over 1000 hotel nights across the world. I once slept on a sleeper train from Delhi to Mumbai and that was a lot cleaner! My wife and kids refused to use the room facilities and we slept in our clothes. We asked Expedia if we could leave and instead they got them to clean the room which reduced the smell of urine from overpowering to a mild odour and cleaned up about 60% of the sticky floor, changed the sheets, unfortunately none of the cutlery, crockery or electrical items were cleaned but this was sufficient for us to use the bathroom and sleep in our bed garments without fear. This hotel is run down, under poor management and the do not have the customer service ethos or professionalism to operate at a 3 star level On arriving its easy to miss the entrance as its a doorway between the Comfort hotel and the Holiday Inn. Essentially its a number of apartments in a very rundown building. There is no way you can ever validate staying here just to save 10% on staying at a branded hotel. You will regret your decision and it will ruin your holiday. Please learn from our misfortune
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Needs some serious maintenance.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location. Quiet street. Close (if you don't mind walking a few easy blocks) to 42 Street, Broadway etc.
Cons: Maintenance to the rooms. Common things required like dish washing items. Maybe even a box of tissues would be a nice touch.
Location: New York is a big place. However for the more mobile of folk, this offers a cheaper location to stay that you can walk to the "main tourist" spots.
Good location, comfortable enough but requires some serious maintenance. No lift. Things like "TV set didn't work", toilet roll holder spun about ("Exorcist Style") throwing the roll onto the floor, bed side wall mounted lamp broken but "fixed" clear package sealing tape - which still didn't work! Coffee machine in the room but no coffee or filters. Or sugar. Kitchenette has microwave, hotplate and pots, pans and crockery/cutlery. Missing were a can opener, dish washing liquid, scourer and a tea towel - so how can you wash your plates after a meal? Hot water and your bare hands is the ONLY way. Inexcusable oversight. Paper thin bathroom towels. Rubbish still in draws left by previous guests. No one checked during cleaning. Noisy front door buzzer (signifying that the "door is now open" - just a flashing lamp would do) would fire off at all hours when folk returned from their night (or early AM food hunting & gathering) and would shut with a BANG. Good points, there's a shop about 1 block away that was open for food and the basics 24 hours. About 2 blocks away from the Subway. 3 blocks from Broadway etc. On a quiet street. Really at the end of the day, pay a bit more and go to the Holiday Inn Express right next door. This hotel could be a lot better - a few photos on the wall etc. You wouldn't need much to make it quirky and comfortable - the owners seem to choose not to. No 24 hour reception - so coming in "out of hours" might cause some folk problems.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Awful, just awful

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything. Cleaner. Should be listed as a hostel for impoverished people.
Location: It is new york city - what can I say. tons of things to do in manhattan
Urine smell in bathroom area, no phone, no one consistently on desk, beds uncomfortable, extreme noise from adjacent factory - constant thumping for about half the day. Stairs, no elevator. PLEASE DO NOT BOOK A HOTEL HERE. IT WAS AWFUL, EVEN BY NEW YORK STANDARDS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice new rooms.

Posted Nov 4, 2017
We got room 14. Everything was brand new. Very clean and nice smelling. The heater/a-c was also new and the noise was quiet enough to sleep soundly but noisy enough to drain out the street noise. Perfect. The “lobby” and lack of elevator was a letdown but the room made up for it big time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Not satisfied

Posted Oct 17, 2017
We moved to another hotel for the next 2 nights. Room was small for 4. Misrepresented on Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from raleigh, nc

Very good for midtown walking and bus system

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We stayed a week. Quiet location, spacious room for New York.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a little gem I would stay in again

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel. The room was very comfortable and had everything you needed, a little kitchen, very good AC, large bathroom. The local area (Hells Kitchen) although was a few blocks to a subway was great as there was loads of bars and restaurants for on an evening, and was only a few blocks from Times Square. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again myself.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
There was nobody at the front desk when wanting to check in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saskatchewan

Good neighbourhood, close to Time Square.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Cons: More detailed cleaning of rooms
Location: Subway very close, Time Square 10 min walk, Hudson River 5 min walk
The neighbourhood is great, walked back numerous evenings from Time Square or subway at midnight. Quiet at night except Fridays and Saturdays! Room met our needs, however minimal cleaning done during our 6 night stay. Towels replaced and garbage emptied daily. Great neighbourhood market on corner, 24 hrs.