Ratings based on 2,381 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: nothing really
I booked a room with city views. The only view from the hotel was on the building across the street which is under construction. The loud noise from the construction could be heard from early morning to late night. I think it would be fair for the hotel to mention about the construction when advertising rooms. In addition cleaning lady came banging on the door way before the check out time and wouldn't stop till I tell her I am not checking out yet. There was no sign to put on the door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Times Squate

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Hotel was nice it's located across from Police Station & within walking distance to Times Square & Macys. It's an older hotel but still nice. Staff were friendly & helpful. Just a lot of construction around it woke us up early each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west palm beach

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Good stay safe place and a good walk to the convention center
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Great value for families and great location

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Pros: Fourth-floor family room size was wonderful and great value. Location was either within walking distance or subway ride to tourist attractions.
Cons: Slightly bigger fridge and microwave in the room. Had tasty leftover we could not enjoy warm the next day.
Location: Times Square, Theater District, Macy's, Manhattan Mall, Penn Station/Madison Square Gardens, Empire State Building, NY Public Library, restaurants
We stayed at the TRYP for 3 nights during a recent stay in NYC. We took a red-eye flight and knew we would be arriving before check-in time. It was a short one-block walk from Penn Station. So, when we got to the hotel, we used the bathrooms in the lobby to freshen up, stored our bags with the hotel and hit the streets to start exploring. The staff were very nice and helpful. We came back from exploring and were able to check in around 2:30 pm. Our room was on the 4th floor and had two queens, two twin bunk beds and a pull out sofa. It was quite large and had plenty of room for my husband, myself, a 22 year old and two teen-age sons. The fridge was a little small and there was no microwave which would have been helpful if we were staying longer. However, the in-room safe was able to fit two-laptops, a couple tablets and a couple wallets and was easy to program. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom and plenty of shampoo, conditioner and body-wash in the dispensers in the huge shower. Could have used a few more hooks to dry towels, but we managed. The housekeeping staff was very nice and gave us extra cups, sugar/creamer packets, and k-cups for the coffee maker. There is only one ice machine on the first floor in the workout room. Speaking of workout room, there were two treadmills, a bicycle, weight machine, weight bench, weight balls, and mats. There was also a "library" room near the lobby which had a nice large table where we played cards.Overall great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Had to move to another room

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Our first room faced the street. There was construction on bldg across the street that started at 6 AM every morning so I was getting woken up at 6 AM. Moved to another room on other side of hotel. Only negative issue I had. It is in garment district not in Times Square.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south plainfield NJ

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Modern look and clean!!!
Nice, clean modern hotel. The Gastro Bar in the Lobby for drinks was nice touch. We had breakfast there as well in morning. Room was clean and really pretty quiet for sleeping. Excellent place. Were in town for Billy Joel concert at MSG and wanted to enjoy the City for the evening instead of going home.We really enjoyed our short stay in NYC. We asked for good restaurants and was told about Uncle Jack's around the corner. My husband had the best steak that he's ever had in his life! Will absolutely stay at TRYP again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

New york

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The man that checked us in, named Christian, was very polite, gracious, accomadating, and the perfect person to be at the front of your hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This hotel was in a great location for what I needed. It was super cute and everybody was friendly. There were 2 things that I was unhappy with. There were not enough covers on the bed (a small complaint) and there was a bit of confusion on the checkout time. The reservation confirmation said 11am, but everything in the hotel said 12pm. It ended up being 11am because they are in the midst of changing things, but I think it should have been changed everywhere as to avoid any confusion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to many attractions

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel was close to Time Square, the theater district, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Satation and The Empire State Building. There are many food options close by and access to the subway. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially the bartender who worked nights. We actually walked to Central Park and the 9/11 memorial from this hotel. We used subway and Uber to return to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

TRYP by Whyndham Timers Square South

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Location very central and close to Penn Station
Cons: Building works being completed nearby to reduce noise
Location: It is so central lots to do nearby and good access to subway stations close to Times square attractions, empire state, grand central terminal etc
Great location, great hotel only issue was building works going on at the time of stay that started up around 6.30am would still return though. Staff helpful and friendly