Ratings based on 1,828 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Good enough for the price you pay and its location... close to Times Square, Empire State, etc. Just to spend the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service tasteless brakefast

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Didn’t rest at all wet bed by leaking roof moldy bath bad customer service management never addressed the issues
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Reasonably priced hotel with fabulous breakfast

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Walk everywhere! Don't take the subway or a cab: walk. I wanted to see High Line park, but didn't make it: 0 degrees...
I really hesitated between four and five stars. For the price, you won't find a better place to stay in Midtown - it's clean, friendly, and quiet (my room at least was nestled in its own little alcove and I couldn't hear any street noise at all). And the free breakfast with hearty enough to keep you going until late afternoon: eggs, sausage, all kinds of breads, waffles, fruit, etc. Coffee was even decent. And I loved the fact that the hotel was attached to a little restaurant - I ordered great Asian fusion food there in the evening, and in the morning we were comfortable (in spite of the cold) over a real breakfast with real plates, silverware, mugs, etc. All in all, I was delighted. So why the four stars? Well, it's not fancy, so you didn't feel like you were in a five star hotel or anything. It's very nice, but fairly basic. Not like the Midtown Hilton or anything with bellboys running all around and fresh flowers everywhere. And (this may be a dealbreaker for some, although it didn't bother me too much) I couldn't get the internet in my room. They said it was down and would be up in 45 minutes, but I never had more than a minute of wifi in my room over two days. I saw people on their phones in the hall, too. I get free data, normally, but I couldn't get anything at all from my room. I don't know if it was because I was on the second floor, or near the elevator, or what. Fortunately, the first night I didn't need to work, and the next day I was gone 12 hours
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Close to Madison Square Garden. Easy check in, rooms well maintained with modern decor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Great location, Poor rooms

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything inside the rooms including furniture and AC/Heating unit
For me, the hotel was right next door to my office so it was a natural to try it. I was also living in NY when it was built so I was expecting something relatively new. What I found instead was a room with old and poorly maintained furniture and a heating/ac unit that was old and loud when it ran. I won't stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good hotel, good location, no resort fee

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Booked this room at a very good rate, WiFi and breakfast included, and no resort/facility fee. The room is modern and clean, with small frig, and everything works. The location is very good, near Penn Station. I'll stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Posted Dec 30, 2017
The room was dirty filthy, all the sheets were smelly and had black spots on it and we had to ask for clean sheets. The shower tub was very dirty as well. I have never seen such a dirty and low quality breakfast anywhere. They say have a parking but it is 2 blocks away. I will never go back there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2017
This hotel is in an excellent location- food, travel, shopping- it's all a short walk away. The staff at Wingate are extremely friendly and helpful. Although it may not be as fancy as some hotels, it surely is always neat and clean and can;t forget to mention the free breakfast everyday.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Hotel room really bad on cell reception to no reception. At the time of stay, no WiFi at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Times Square action

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Great location with short walk to Times Square! Some of the carpet in hallways is worn and stained, but the rooms are very nice and well kept.