Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Quiet, clean, unassuming

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Clean; quiet; friendly daytime staff; easy to reach and convenient to Mifflintown.
Cons: The shower control in my room (111) needs attention; it would have been good to know ahead of time that interior-only rooms are available.
Location: I was there for Mifflintown, not the more usual State College stuff; the area is lovely and worth seeing just for itself.
Let's level-set: It's an EconoLodge. That said, if you're looking for clean, quiet, inexpensive accommodations in the Mifflintown area, these folks are there for you. The room was clean and well-maintained aside from a slightly wonky shower control (and I liked that much-more-spacious-than-expected counter space in there!). I was pleased at how quiet it was, especially since I ended up on first floor in a room with doors facing both inside (that is, into the interior hallway of the hotel) and out (the parking lot). The heating unit is the usual item you find in hotels of this sort, but for whatever reason even it was quieter than usual (much appreciated). I gave the restaurant next door a miss and grabbed some snacks from the convenience store across the lot. A good experience; would visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berlin, PA

Gymnastics Competition

Posted Nov 5, 2017
It was way better than expected. Pillows were hard and you could tell it use to be a smoking hotel, still had lingering smoke smell. But overall, way better than expected.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas city, ks

Posted Nov 1, 2017
This is a very basic hotel with marginal services. No good at this hotel but there is an eating dinner just next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Smell
Location: Closest hotel to Penn State at the time we booked.
The room was clean. Beds comfortable. But we were in a non smoking room and the smell of cigarettes was really strong on the walls, air conditioner and in the pillows, although the sheets seemed clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
The only complaint I have is that there was no lotion or conditioner available in the rooms! Very friendly and accommodating staff
1 out of 5
by Jennifer

No pic we just wanted to get out

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
We got there just for the night the room smelled there was bugs in the bathroom floor stuff in the bath tub do not know but it was. Black I told the front desk and she got very rude
5 out of 5
by Kenneth

The place to be in Mifflinton/McAlisterville

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
The staff we're cheery and well versed in the local area events. Great staff
4 out of 5
by chris

Saturday night races with friends

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Check in went well. The room was ok cleanliness wise, but there was some old article of clothing between the dresser and fridge. That tells me they don't clean very well. The air conditioning worked great and we love the location as it is only a few minutes from the race track.
4 out of 5
by chris

Race week.

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
We had to wait for the front desk staff as she was cleaning a room. The door latch was broken on the door. There were bugs around base of the one bed and the floor needed swept. The tub drain was very slow. The place needs a good remodel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Raleigh NC

Probably best hotel in the area

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Staff. The faucet was Moen, that surprised me. Too bad it was also loose.
Cons: No elevator and two stories. My draperies did not work. Toilet had no lid. Seems unsanitary and afraid of dropping stuff into.
Convenient for my purposes. A music event at a nearby state park, but I don't do camping.