Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice view from the living room balcony.

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice place to stay with view. You do need a car to get around. The drawback was it has no WiFi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very hilly but a beautiful outlook

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
The apartment was a little difficult to find, but worth the effort. We were rather disappointed that the pools shown on the advert were both locked though. We were diverted to a smaller area on another block. Quite a distance and with the hills, not for the faint hearted. Other than that, both very happy with our stay. My first photo shows how tantalisingly close we were to the pools that were locked up. A bit irritating I have to say.
4 out of 5
by Justin from london

great value

Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
had 2 fantastic evenings in this apartment great size very spacious and was very relaxing too
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice apartment but miles from anywhere.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Nothing within walking distance. Steep climb to its location at top of foothills.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice place but some major spoilers

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Is a beautiful location. The sea and mountain view was excellent.
Cons: El Porton staff / service at times was bad. The guy not wanting to help with the lack of a baby cot just is not fit to face customers.
Location: NIce beaches. Marbella close by.
Major problem, we requested a baby cot, and when we checked in at 11:30am we were told it would be brought shortly to the room. After some time with it not arriving we called, and were told the cleaners would bring it. After more time, we called again and they said it would definately arrive later. We got home late afternoon and the cot still wasn't there. We called the El Porton number and we got a guy on the end of the phone who just said he couldn't help us and the cleaners had gone home so there was nothing he could do. He even had the cheek to suggest I go to the super store and buy one!!! This was the night of Thursday 31st July about 6:00pm. He claimed he was at a call centre in Barcelona. So either this is true and that makes me angry that they are having calls answered in a different city. Or the guy is just a liar, and an extremely unhelpful one at that. Either way, I had to go to the main Club Marbella reception (which is not El Porton - I got the impression they are managing El Porton apartments) and asked them about this. The guy on the reception desk rolled his eyes back slightly as if he is being annoyed by issues arising at El Porton quite often. But he was very helpful and said he will call if a baby cot isn't going to arrive (and about half hour later it arrived).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by spain vacay

Spain vacation

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Orbitz
The apartment was a bit confusing on how to find and were a bit surprised that there was no air conditioning pretty stuffy the first night but better the next after we had the doors open the whole day. The toilets need to be resealed as we were getting sewer gas smell everyday had to keep the doors shut to the bathrooms all the time. Pool was great and apartment spacious for 2 adults and 3 kids.
4 out of 5
by rich from USA

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels
Check-in is at Club Marbella, a Crown Resort. El Porton is located up the mountain in a residential area. Wi-fi is available only at the Crown Resort restaurant. The Crown Resort staff spoke good English and were friendly and helpful. Parking is secure and free. Our unit was a single bedrm, very spacious and well appointed with an excellant Med. view. A car is almost mandatory. El Porton is well maintained complex. El Porton is quiet and an good central point to visit Marbella, Mijas, Ronda and "Gib" is only about 60 miles away. This is a strong 3 star.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely apartment but you need a car

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: clean apartment and pool
Cons: a long way from anywhere and at the top of a steep hill
Location: on the top oif a steep hill in residential area
two disadavantages to this otherwise lovely apartment-firstly unless you want to sit by the pool everyday there is nowhere to visit within walking distance(apart from small shop and restaurant) - car essential, and secondly no air-con lovely clean gfood sized twin bathroomed apartment with well maintained good size and fairly quiet pool
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rotti

El Porton Block 6

Posted Aug 1, 2012 on Ebookers
Accommodation, location and amenities were fine for independent travellers with their own transport. The balcony is snug. Equipment is just enough for 4. However, this block of apartments is no longer connected to the Crown Resorts which means, check in/out is done via Crown Resorts but El Porton does not receive any cleaning or service during your stay. (Washing machine walked when I washed the sheets!) It would have been better if this was made clear when booking the holiday. The staff at Crown Resorts gave mixed messages, as 3 separate enquiries resulted in different information from "yes you can use all Crown Resort facilities" to "Nada, you get nothing". I managed to persuade staff to let me leave baggage after check out for the last day. They hesitantly offered use of the facilites for the day - we did not miss out on anything.... El Portor had a better pool than Crown Resorts. Would recommend this place making sure the traveller is aware of the above.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester

apartment at el porton7

Posted Mar 4, 2012 on Hotels
Everything was excellent at the apartment,fixtures and fittings were above expectation.The block was a little bit out of the way but as long as you have a car this isn't too much of a problem.We went in February and the apartment was absolutely freezing,so much so we had to buy hot water bottles!The apartment would greatly benefit from a much better heating system.