Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from eastbourne, sussex

Lovely side views of beach and spectacular sunrise

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Very adequate for quiet week away.
Cons: Food could be hotter.
Location: Mijas was worth wandering around.......market great
Could have enjoyed a little more entertainment. Oh and downside APPALLING ENTRANCE TO RECEPTION. DOWN MARBLE STEPS......
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by "MO", Hotel Management
Dear Costumer, We very much appreciate your comment and time dedicated to writing your opinion. It is a pleasure for us to here you enjoyed the location and environment of VIK Gran Hotel Costa del Sol, beachfront and nearby la Cala's rural center. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the location of the Hotel, the professionalism of our staff and facilities. We will take note of your opinion. The opinions of our customers are fundamental to improve on day to day basses. We have taken into account very seriously your opinions and are working to provide a better service to all our customers. Kind Regards Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol Team "MO"
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Best part of hotel was location.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location was very good .
Cons: Dining room chairs needing attention some were a bit dirty , also more heating grills for toast.Bedroom could be doing with a fresh look. TV upgrade
Location: Location was the best, restaurants , shops, bars, supermarket, bus service ,everything you need no need for car.
Arrived at hotel 9 pm.Staff at reception on arrival pleasant .Room clean and comfortable although looking a bit tired.TV disappointing only news channels and with unexpected bad weather for four days was a disappointment.Morning breakfast was good plenty of choices although tea was always slightly warm we were there for nine days and never had a cup of hot tea.The Sun came out and pool area was very good . The hotel is in a great location and La Cala is a lovely resort.I have been twice before and I am returning again later in the year.The hotel needing a bit of a make over would not put me off entertainment was good , I think the hotel is good Value and we had a pleasant stay.Lo
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by "MO", Hotel Management
Dear Sarah, We would like to thank you again for visiting the Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol and for being a regular customer and for taking your time to value us. We are pleased to know that you have again enjoyed our Hotel location and the professionalism of our staff and facilities Take note of your suggestion. The opinions of our customers are fundamental to improve on day to day basses. We have taken into account very seriously your opinions and are working to provide a better service to all our customers. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon in the Hotel We hope you have had a nice journey back to your home. Your Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol Team "MO"
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 21, 2017
This hotel needs a complete refurbish,chairs in dining room dirty and worn,bedding and beds worn out,food 'just ok' With a clean up and refurb this hotel could be as wonderful as it's location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2017 by "MO", Hotel Management
Dear Customer Dear Customer We want to thank you for taking your time to value us We will take note of your suggestion for our best service and facilities We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the location of the Hotel and Buffet We would love to see you again in our Hotel. Best regards Your Vik Gran Hotel Costa del Sol Team "MO"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 3, 2017
could do with tea/ coffee making facilities in room . only sky news in english need more english channelsclean plesant staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rotherham

Ecxellent position close to beach

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: The position ,close to the beach & boardwalk, balcony had the sun most of the day.
Cons: Tea / coffee making facilities needed in the rooms. The quality of the food in the evening.
Location: Location is almost perfect, we have stayed in La Cala dozens of times and love the place. Many very good restaurants , lovely boardwalk etc.
Hotel is in a lovely position close to the beach and boardwalk. The rooms facing the pool & car park get the sun from late morning until dusk. Rooms are quite large and the hotel is kept very clean by the staff. The whole place though seems tired and in need of updating. The reason I would not recommend this hotel is down to the food although you can usually find something to your liking for breakfast the evening meal is awfull. On the face of it there seems to be a good choice but almost every dish seemed to lack flavour or was over/under cooked. The coffee was out of a machine and was dire, the hot water for tea was lukewarm. It is a shame because if they got the catering right this would be a very good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very close to beach with town a short walk

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Convenient to all amenities
Cons: No car charges
Location: Local by bus to Marbella, Torremolinos and Fungerola
good comfortable hotel. Do not agree with charging for parking car. I believe that room costs should include free parking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Old hotel needs updating

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Not good I'm afraid. Noisy fridge and broken cupboards in the room which was cold. Old analog tv with one English news channel and the food was terrible-the buffet like a cattle market. I could go on...disinterested staff-no tea or coffee making facilities and this is supposed to be 4 ⭐️️
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol. UK.

Fabulous view from room

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location. View. Easy drive from the airport. Very easy check in and room was available although we arrived early in the morning.
Cons: Food could be improved. More English TV channels, we only had CNN. Roof top bar would be The icing on the cake as the view really is superb.
Location: Great boardwalk making getting to Marbella an easy and beautiful walk. Good restaurants nearby.
We have stayed in the VIK Gran before, but this time had room 427. It was dual aspect, overlooking the sea from one window and Mijas and the mountains from the other side. Fabulous, we want that room when we come again, it made our holiday! Everyone spoke English so the holiday was made very easy and the location , right on the beach, could not be bettered. Good pool bar and staff there superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester

Lovely position right on the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Stayed here for just 1 night to visit friends and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. It was very cheap but was only hotel in the area to meet friends so booked with some trepidation. It's a larger hotel but was quiet (it was January!) So may be crowded in the summer. The room was a very good standard, reasonably sized, plenty of drawers and hanging space, a fridge, plenty of sockets and a good balcony size. The bathroom was good, plenty of shower gel, even a razor kit (important when traveling with only have luggage nowadays). It was in a lovely area, lots of 2 storey original Spanish apartments which were mostly still owned by Spanish locals, giving the area a very authentic feel, and right on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cabopino

Walked by many times

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: location, but the food and ambience proved really good
Cons: we could have booked a room in a better, sea view location
Location: Lovely board walk to walk on. Very level which is important to us. you can walk easily along the beach to many nice restaurant and shops. Great market
We have walked by this fine hotel many times as the location is a favourite of ours. We needed a place to stay for one night before starting joining our caravan in Cabopino, so this was an obvious choice. It was perfect. will definately stay again