Ratings based on 3,300 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

1block from Milano Centrale

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Clean, modern, and spotless! Very nice and helpful staff. Huge breakfast buffet! Will definitely stay here again if in Milan and highly recommend to all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel & lovely staff

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Could not fault the hotel at all. Staff very good & excellent food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Friendly hotel near to Milan's Central Station.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. Everyone smiled and said hello.The breakfast and happy hour buffets were fabulous.
Cons: Although there was a choice of pillows they were all hard.
Location: Ideal for Monza and Milan sightseeing.
Stayed here to go to Italian Grand Prix 2017. Hotel was handy for trains that we used from Malpensa airport, for Monza and ultimately, Lake Como. Choice of restaurants on nearby streets. Beware of 'coperto' table tax that adds to your bill (at least £5 for 2) but tips are optional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Robertsbridge, UK

Nice hotel but disappointing single rooms

Posted Sep 6, 2017
An excellent hotel but disappointed at size and poor lighting in my single room. Should probably have booked a double. Staff excellent - so is breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2017 by Carlo Fontana GM, Hotel Management
Dear Barry, Thank you for having been again our valued guest at Hotel Berna. We appreciate the time you spent to write your nice feedback, but we are very sorry to discover that this time we were not able to fully meet your expectations. Concerning your room, we checked our records and we noticed you reserved a Quality single room trough Expedia.com. This was the exact type of room you were assigned at check-in. Probably in the past, we have been able to offer you a free "upgrade" in our most beautiful rooms, although you had booked lower room category. Unfortunately, this time it was not possible, as our hotel was totally fully booked. We truly wish you had reported your dissatisfaction to our reception staff right away. We would have been happy to offer you a brighter room (even if in the same category) or bring you an additional lamp. Hoping to host you again at Hotel Berna, Best regards. Carlo Fontana GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto , Canada

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Hotel Berna was a fantastic hotel. Located in a quite street but so close to metro station and train station. Walking distance to shopping area. Staff were super nice , very clean room and super comfy beds. We enjoyed variety of options for breakfast and room service was excellent . Checked in and checked out time was very smooth . We loved our stay and can not wait to go back soon ! Arezoo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Great hotel so close to Milano Centrale

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The hotel exceeded our expectations and was a pleasure to stay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Ireland

Perfect location for everything, safe area

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything
Cons: As the settee converted to a bed we only had 1 proper chair to sit on - it would have been nice if we had 3 chairs for the times we were in the room
Location: Location is perfect - easy access to the railway station, Hop on Hop off bus, buses to airports, places of interests and shopping
Fabulous city, hotel and weather. Everything was within easy access. The area felt safe. Loads to do and see. Hotel Berna was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. We had a room that easily accommodated 3 adults - plenty of room to do our exercises in the morning! Room very well fitted out, bathroom was lovely and cleaned to perfection. The staff were friendly and helpful with the exception of the male receptionist we checked out with. It was 6:15am so maybe he was tired but he didn't ask if we had any issues while staying in the hotel and also did not wish us a safe journey home. The only substantial conversation was when he advised us of the "city tax" which we had no problem paying. The staff in the dining room were extremely helpful and were "bright and cheerful" in the morning. The selection of food for breakfast catered for all tastes. The tea/coffee in the lobby is a lovely feature which is popular with a lot of the guests including ourselves. It is nice to be able to have a coffee at the hotel without staying in the room to have it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Well located hotel with friendly attentive staff , the rooms are presented well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Free mini non alcoholic mini bar

Posted Aug 30, 2017
In the searing temperatures it was great to have a free mini bar to get my drinks for the day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ, USA

Even Better than Expected

Posted Aug 27, 2017
WOW! I had read other reviews, so I knew it would be great, but it was even better than reported. It started with how easy it was to find and close to the train station. We had been traveling for over 13 hours, so thought we would drop off our bags and go sit somewhere for a cold drink. Andrea at the front desk got us into our room early, and showed us the lounge area with complimentary water/coffee/tea while we waited. Most of the staff spoke English and always made sure we could find what we needed. The room was clean and had AC. The included breakfast was delicious, with many options: fruit, breads and pastries, cereal, yogurt, eggs, meat, quiche, hot drinks and juices. They really cater to tourist families, with a free stocked fridge in the room. They offered us bottles of water when we checked out. There is an elevator if you need it, it's all non-smoking. We didn't try the bar or room service. Pizza place next door is well rated. We walked to a park nearby where they have a carousel and bumper cars and gelato snack bar. Perfect.