Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Albans, UK

Posted Aug 15, 2016
We had some difficulty finding the hotel with Sat Nav from the address given by Expedia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwest Georgia

Overall pleased with Grand Hotel Villa Torretta

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: It's very clean and charming. The staff was wonderful.
Location: Already indicated in my review.
We really liked this hotel, but we only had one night there and were late arriving, so we didn't get to eat in the restaurant as we would have liked to have done. We did have a problem locating the hotel, but most of that was due to a non-working GPS system. The staff members were all very nice and helpful. The hotel was having a special event that night, and up until midnight or so, it was pretty loud in our room. We went down to the bar, got a couple of drinks, and sat in the lobby. It was nice and relaxing. After the event ended, of course, the noise level was fine. We had a beautiful room that was spacious and clean. My husband had to go out to the car late and said the surrounding area is not good at night. It was fine during the day, however, and the next morning it was an easy walk to the metro station to take the subway into Milan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice character hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2015
The Hotel is a definite gem with its character and style very welcoming . The rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. A bit warm though as no air conditioning but temperature was hitting just under 30 degrees in the day and 23-25 at night. Breakfast was delightful. All round good experience . A ten min walk to the nearest metro and very safe area even at night. Big shopping mall across the street with alternative finning available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent hotel away from downtown

Posted Feb 23, 2015
The hotel itself is fantastic - the converted Convent is beautiful - very high ceilings with original wood beams - we also had a large living room - incredible value for what we paid. the grounds are also very nice and the restaurant deserves its Michelin star - we had 1 great dinner there and went downtown the other 2 nights. The area around the hotel is rather industrial - there is a park which we did not visit - we went to shopping mall across the street - not much going on there. the Bignami metro stop is about 5-10 min walk from hotel - safe during day but not a good idea coming back late at night - we paid 23 Euros for a cab ride on a friday night from the Duomo back to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by martin from munich

Close to the Institute for movement disorders

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Spacious, large grounds, cool, receptionist extremely helpful, Food delicious, lovely patio for drinks, generous snacks, good value for money, free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautifully restored villa

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Elegant ambience in quiet setting yet within easy reach of Milan. Views of snow-covered Alps from dormer window of our 5th floor room.
Cons: Thought food was rather expensive and the same dish ordered on 2 different nights turned out quite different in presentation and detail.
Location: Thanks to the recent opening of new M3 Lilac tube line (not yet on all maps), the hotel is now also readily accessible by the metro.
Spent 4 nights in great comfort. Reception staff excellent. Dining room staff not so experienced and their English was of a variable level of competency.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel handy to metro

Posted Apr 28, 2014
A little out of the centre, but easy to get into the city on metro. Beautiful hotel, great staff, delicious restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Raj from Uk

Lovely hotel- full of Italian character.

Posted Aug 31, 2012
Clean friendly. Lovely old building with a lot of character. Beautifully renovated. Nice gardens. Located very close to a large shopping precinct. Our room was lovely and very comfortable. Would definately stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from Chino Hills, CA

Hidden gem

Posted Mar 18, 2012
Pros: The bedrooms and bathrooms were very large, compared to most European hotels.
Location: A little far removed from most areas, but conveniently located to public transportation which could get you anywhere.
We chose this hotel as a base for day visits to Milan and Venice. The hotel is very nice and had a mall/supermarket across the way which was convenient. We could easily take tram 31, located behind the hotel, to the subway - which then got us to Milan or the train station to visit Venice. Overall, a really nice hotel with large, elegant rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrei Z from Moscow, Russia

Reasonable stay, still logistics and neighborhood should be considered (March 2011)

Posted Mar 17, 2011
Overall the hotel is good and in line with descriptions. Still some small comments: • Noisy air conditioning that we could not switch off due to the heat mode. A hint – open a window and it will stop working • Noisy surrounding streets during a day-time. A hint – do not open a window until necessary )). • Better drive car / use a taxi, avoid walking in the evenings – the surrounding blocks are full of dubious people • Not easy to find – indicated number of the building did not exist in our navigation system – please print out the directions beforehand no TV chanells in English / Deutsch. But again - clean, friendly, reasonable p[rices, lovely breakfasts, big rooms, free and safe parking etc.