Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Gambara

Posted Oct 12, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for two nights, and it was not our favorite experience. The room was clean and the staff friendly, but that was about it. The walls were thin, the beds hard, the key was difficult to use. One pillow was soft, the other rock hard. We came back the second night and our room reeked of smoke. It wasn't the worst place, but we wouldn't stay here again. I will say that it was right by a metro station, which was convenient.
3 out of 5
by Denise from Carmarthen

Good budget hotel which looks after guests.

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
Sadly we didn't get the ensuite we expected, probably due to Expo being on, but for a budget hotel, I have no complaints of the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the rooms and facilities. We had noisy neighbours one evening which showed the walls are thin, but that is not unusual these days. Overall, they went out of their way to be courteous and, as two older lady travellers, we felt safe with the security system in place and the 2nd staircase/fire escape, and liked the small basket of complimentary snacks left for us We would go back, with the proviso of a guaranteed bathroom, . Loved the area and its proximity to transport links , we were pointed towards the best restaurants ( I have specific dietary requirements).
5 out of 5
by Vickus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Yaniv from Jerusalem, Israel

decent, clean, not enough hot water

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Decent hotel, convenient, quiet location by the Metro station though not quite within walking distance to city center. Room was comfortable and very clean, but the hot water boiler was not big enough for two showers - a major letdown. Also - beware of steep, scary staircase between the hotel's two floors. Not a problem for myself and my son, but could be one with bigger bags and shakier legs.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hostel, but uncomfortable and loud

Posted Mar 1, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was friendly but did not speak English at all, rooms were clean but nothing like the description (no pillow top mattresses - very uncomfortable beds), paper-thin walls and very loud clientele all night. Worst night of our 3-weeks in Europe. Thought we had booked a private bathroom, but it was a shared bathroom. Shared bathroom was very clean and rooms were clean - just very uncomfortable and very loud all night. Definitely a hostel - not a hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for one night

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient location. Very basic room, but we expected that for the price we paid.
4 out of 5
by Stanka from Plovdiv

It was OK

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect location near the metro station.
3 out of 5
by Amitkumar V

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good :-(

Posted Jan 2, 2015 on Hotels
I'm sorry to say that but it's the worst hotel we stayed for 11 days in Italy. In these days, we stayed in star 1,2,3,4 hotels, but this one star is even worse than the one without any star in Florence. The toilet doesn't work properly. You need to use your hand or your back to hold it when you are sitting down. Disgusting isn't it? The good thing is near metro, has supermarket right next to metro, good location. And a very good restaurant next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from castiglion fiorentino, italy

great location

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pros: it was in a quiet location
Cons: the beds had springs that were really uncomfortable
Location: with the metro station really close wich means the traviling from the hotel is really easy
it had a great location that was quiet but close to the metro which allowed us to travel freely