Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting location and building

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness, decor, friendly hosts.
I stayed at this hotel more than a year ago, so my memories are not too clear. I do recall that the bathroom was clean and very nice. There were three of us, and we had enough room to move around and set out our bags, etc. The dining room/reception area is loaded with materials about the city. The hosts were very helpful and answered all our questions. The location was a little bit "out of the way", but as it is only about 7 minutes from the Metro station, not a big problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very friendly staff.

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Very nice little hotel. Staff were very friendly, and rooms were nice. 20 minutes by metro into the centre of Milan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malta

Quiet hotel in Milan

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Excellent location, parking availability, wifi, cleanliness and the quiet area.
Cons: Lift, better signs of the hotel and a more welcoming front door.
Location: Excellent location very close to the metro stop that can take you to the center of Milan in less than 20 minutes.
A small and beautiful hotel close to the metro in a quiet neighborhood. Hotel staff are very welcoming and helpful. We were given a good explanation of Milan and were best to eat and shop along places to visit within our stay. Large rooms. Good wifi and parking is available inside the hotel at a cost which is highly recommended since the parking spaces in the vicinity are all blue parking spaces (need to pay for the time parked). Breakfast selection is moderate but everything especially the bread, pastries and cakes are all freshly baked in the morning... what a nice smell to wake up to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Convenient to all Sites in Milan

Posted Jul 24, 2015
We had a wonderful stay at Il Girasole. Nicola was wonderful. We had a very limited stay in the city, but he took the time to orient us, provide some handy tips, and made us feel right at home. The rooms were spacious and comfortable enough. The breakfast provided in the morning was delicious and got us going in the morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great attention. Clean.Convenient location close t

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Convenient location close to Metro but 10 metro stations away from city centre. However who likes a quiet suburb highly recommended. Good breakfast n attention n information provided excellent. Safety good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

One day in Milan

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: Reasonable cost and personalized experience. Happy hour on the patio was very pleasant.
Wonderful owners, nice stay in a pristine clean comfortable room in a residential area of town. The owners couldn't have been more helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sf ca

Friendly helpful owners !

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Friendly helpful owners, lovely k,clean rooms. would recommend it to anyone who's got some time to be in Milan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisbon

I would stay there again, if I come back to Milan.

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: Most of all, the warmness of the hosters. Breakfast was fresh and healthy. Decoration was simple but lovely.
Location: The location is not brilliant, as it's far from the centre. It is however quiet and close to the subway.
Stuff was really nice and helpfull. Very nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Incredibly helpful owners and nice room

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The owner's amazing hospitality!
Cons: AC to be turned on after October 15 and more insulation between rooms.
Location: We went to the Duomo and castle. Also, I recommend the segway tour. The owner of the segway tours is a little brusque, but he's nice.
My husband and I stayed at Il Girasole for one night. We were able to find the hotel pretty easily but it took some effort to get in to check in. I didn't realize that we were supposed to call ahead and tell the owners when we would be checking in. When we did actually check in, Niccoli was very helpful. He went through where we should go, how we should get there, explained the metro to us, showed us where the shopping was and even explained where the locals go to eat. He also told us about apperitivo, which we took part in and loved. My only compliant is that there was no AC (was turned off on October 15) and we could hear everything in the rooms next door. The owners' hospitality more than made up for these complaints, but we didn't sleep all that much. Also, I should mention that Niccoli and Mateo went out of their way to help my husband (who I gave grief to after he did nothing for my birthday 6 days prior) to get a cake. They even threw in a bottle of Prosecco! I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying Milan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth TX

Excellent Hotel Near Metro Red Line

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Kitchen, proximity to metro station.
Location: The metro will get you quickly to all the sights in the center of Milan. Just get off at Duomo station.
Our primary purpose was to find a hotel in Milano with easy access to the Metro so we could get to Malpensa Airport quickly the next morning. Il Girosole fit the bill perfectly since we did not have to change metro lines to get to Cadorna train station for the Malpensa Express. There are plenty of good restaurants near the red line within a few stops of Il Girasole, and the hosts provided directions to some recommendations. The hosts also let us check in early, although all we wanted to do was check our bags. That was a pleasant surprise. The room has everything you could need including a small but very functional kitchen. Be aware that the exterior view shown on the web site is the view from the atrium, NOT the street view. The color of the building is correct, but you will need to look for the street number on the exterior. We did not sample the breakfast since we needed to get to the airport early.