Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Mark

Great stay

Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was great all around. Great loacation to catch the ferry
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Dear Guest, we are glad to receive your review, your opinion is very important for us and makes us improving our skills in the art of accomodation. Hoping to see you again we send our best regards. Patrizia Sofia-Direttore
4 out of 5
by Charles

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017
La ringraziamo per avere condiviso la Sua opinione Su Expedia. Cordiali saluti. Patrizia Sofia - Dir. Hotel La Bussola
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect location for the ferry

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Clean! Friendly staff. Great location.
Cons: More staff.
Location: It's at the port so easy access for ferry and loads of easy to reach restaurants and bars nearby. Easy walk to Milazzo castle too.
Spotlessly clean hotel in greet location for the ferry. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only criticism - and it's minor - is that there only ever seemed to be one staff member on duty. The reception was tending the bar (for coffees) and doing breakfast. They were great but having to go find someone every time you wanted a refill was disappointing. Otherwise great hotel and would happily recommend or stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel, was just renovated, very close to the center and to the port.
4 out of 5
by Irwan from Los Angeles

La Bussola 4 beds room

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in this hotel on our way from Catania to Palermo. It was an unplanned stay, but we're happy that this hotel is available for the four of us. The hotel room is very nice and clean. It seems like it was renovated recently (as of 2014). The front desk attendant is able to speak english and very nice and polite. The location is close to the port (on the south side), perfect for going on day trip on the aeolian islands tour. but there is not that many restaurants around the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Irwan from LA

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels
Nice four star hotel. It is very clean and new, it seems like it was recently renovated. It was a pleasant stay for the four of us in the quadruple room. The only complain was the shower is a bit broken.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Les from London

A sauna in hell.

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: To be honest, not a lot; it's somewhat clinical.
Cons: The air conditioning.
Location: Between the hotel and the ferry terminal at Via del Milthere 39 is a truly delightful Gelateria - Pasticceria - Caffeteria by the name of Altri Tempi.
The air conditioning was not working and it was like being in a sauna. Luisa, the young lady on reception did her best to help and moved us to a room with a balcony that opened onto the harbour. This, unfortunately, was rather noisy because of the night-long traffic and, even with the door wide open, wasn't much cooler. Dinner was a more pleasant experience, and Luisa helped us with the menu because the other charming young ladies in the restaurant weren't fluent in English. Luisa also arranged a shuttle service to the airport for us which was first class. If you're planning on staying here, I'd make sure of the air conditioning first because it really was a problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anne from Essex

Very Nice Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Breakfast could be served earlier
Location: Lovely promenade
Stayed for one night as we were catching the hydrofoil to Stromboli the following morning. Rooms much larger than we expected, excellent showers. Nice restaurant just 5 minutes walking away.