Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Accommodations

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Great location
Location: Great location next to river.
The cabin was well equipped and very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hi Jeremy and thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
by William from Gladstone SA

Mildura

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Family get together and the cabins were excellent. The staff were very friendly and the park despite getting a little aged was in a good state and there was renovations which I take to be pride in their facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi there William and thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the park and yes, we have been undertaking renovations as we agree - there are areas of the park that definitely are a little aged and need some attention. Bit by bit we are getting there :) We are always glad when improvements don't go unnoticed as you hit the nail on the head - we take great pride in the park and all its' facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon William and thank you for staying with us. Kind regards.
2 out of 5
by Julie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Wotif
Cabin was well appointed. Staff were very friendly and helpful and fast to deliver requested supplies to cabin (milk, when kiosk had run out). Pool is heated in winter, which would have been great for kids if we were prepared. But jumping pillow and games room etc ticked enough boxes for kids to be happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
by The team, Hotel Management
Hi there and thank you for leaving us your feedback. We are so glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay. Definitely bring the bathers next time - the pool in winter is the place to be! :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W Yarrawonga

quiet & comforable

Posted Jul 17, 2016
So quiet & lovely looking out over the Murry River. Staff were exstremly helpful when we asked for an up grade . Very impressed with the park as it was our very first experience in a cabin
Comment from Hotel Management
by The team, Hotel Management
Hi there Margie and thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. So glad you were happy with your upgrade aswell, especially being your first cabin-experience :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney

Nice place to lay down your head

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely small park. Kids had fun with all of the facilities. Would come back anytime. Book a room bigger then you think you need as they are smaller then other Big4 cabins. Thanks for the fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
by The team, Hotel Management
Hi Jason and thanks so much for leaving us a review. Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We do have a large range of cabins available to suit all needs, so perhaps when you come back to visit give us a call and we can talk you through the bigger options :) Looking forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Golden river big 4 caravan park Mildura.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Activities for the kids.
Out of town but can get coffee, snacks, newspapers at reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2016 by The team @ BIG4 GRHP, Hotel Management
Hi Deb, thanks so much for leaving us your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most of our well-stocked kiosk at reception :) We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canberra

Overnight stay

Posted May 2, 2016 on Wotif
It was clean and comfortable, we will defiantly go there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by The team @ BIG4 GRHP, Hotel Management
Hi there Christine and thank you for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your return in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet facilities but a bit out of town

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Our cabin was big enough for the 3 adults and 4 children to share. We didn't need to book more than one cabin.
Cons: Nothing needs improving. We had everything we needed.
Location: While being a bit out of town so away from supermarkets and casual take away food outlets, we didn't make special trips for food.
We had a 3 room family cabin for 2 nghts. It was overlooking the river. The room was well set up with kitchen, bbq, and all we needed. Staff were friendly and helpful. The kids enjoyed the pool and jumping balloon. We would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2016 by The team @ BIG4GRHP, Hotel Management
Hi there and thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your feedback and are so happy to hear that you and your family had a good time whilst holidaying at our park. Whilst we are indeed a short drive (4kms) from town center and the closest supermarkets, we do think that the tranquility and peaceful surroundings that we get for it are worth it and hope that all our guests agree with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the cabin was so cute

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: the setting was very nice
Cons: please put in adequate cooling then the stay would have been worth it, we had to pay 1/4 day for nothing we were there for only 10 minutes, sad
we were so excited when we arrived, then went into the cabin and nearly died, at 40 deg, there should have been adequate cooling, unfortunately we had to leave for a cooler hotel...
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2016 by Hanna, Hotel Management
Hi there and thank you for your review. We do remember your group checking in and then informing us that you could not stay. As you had been in the room for a couple of hours, we were unable to resell that room. Unfortunately in these cases we have to stick with our cancellation fee, and we only charged you for 1/2 of the first night, which was already stretching our policy. The cabin you were booked in for was a medium villa which has got a split airconditioning system which we had set on 21 degrees prior to your arrival (as it was a 40+ degree day and we wanted you to feel comfortable on arrival). Unfortunately in this severe heat, there is not much else we can do, however, a pedestal fan was offered and offer declined. Whilst we regret to hear that you found the cooling inadequate, we feel as though we provided everything we could and beyond to make your stay as comfortable as possible and struggle to think of how cooling could be more adequate than a split system that was turned on the morning of your arrival. We do hope to see you again maybe over the cooler winter months.