Ratings based on 659 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Modernised old-style grand hotel with great views.

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: It was clean, comfortable (luxurious in fact) and the staff were very friendly.
Cons: I would have been very happy for the room to be cleaned but the towels not renewed each day, to save on water consumption, and bulk shampoo etc.
We stayed for 4 nights in a superior queen room which included a very nice smorgasbord breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Iconic Building in a great location!

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The old historic pictures throughout
Cons: The gate through to the TAB and Pokies could be left open
Location: Opposite the new $18.3 million dollar redevelopment down to the river. It is amongst several nice places to eat only a short walk away.
We had a lovely time staying at the Grand. All of the staff were great. We stayed in a Spa Suite (Room 39) which was located on the ground floor right outside the pool. I thought we were supposed to have a separate sitting room which was not the case...it was only enough room to put a suitcase. Also thought we were supposed to have a balcony but we did not. We asked where it was best to park and were given tickets to put on our dash so we could park in the open air car park on the side street Langtree Ave for free :) Aircon units could possible do with a clean...other than that we enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NSW

Clean and Comfy

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed. Cheap to stay at.
Cons: Soft furnishing upgrade
Location: River activities.
Good for the price, although the cupboard doors and draw fronts didn't close properly and were very scratched with paint peeling, the room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel very central

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Excellent staff service. Only issue I had Was I was there for work and Internet in room was very slow and one night didn't work at all. this was frustrating as it prevented me doing work that needed doing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Griffith NSW

Great location - room disappointing

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom
Location: very central to restaurants
The location could not have been better - right in the restaurant district. The room was not as advertised. Bathroom was old and not renovated and the walls were thin and we could hear noise in the hallway and other rooms. I recommend calling to check that the room is renovated before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M, Sydney

Short or long stay - difficult to beat.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pleasant, convenient, well priced with old world charm abounding. PS An excellent breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverland

Fantastic location

Posted May 22, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location, room layout, food and shower
Cons: Double glazing on windows to cut down on outside noise (or free earplugs)
Location: Close to shops and restaurants
The room was really good, it was a bit of a walk to get to it and some of the lights weren't working so was dark in sections at night. Staff did offer to shift us to a new room though. The location was very convenient to shops and restaurants. The shower was fantastic. The biggest negative was the noise. We stayed 2 nights and the Friday was the worst with traffic and people noise on the street till early hours. Breakfast was included in the stay and that was also good. Lots of choices and the food was yummy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2017 on Wotif
Clean, convenient and capable staff. Breakfast is also included which is a bonus.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great position, but expensive considering....

Posted May 19, 2017 on Wotif
Stayed in the Queen room by the garden and has charm. Very clean and in a great position. The problem is the hotel is quite dated considering the price you pay, which may not be an issue for some. Basic areas could improve like wifi which did not work, double glazed windows for noise and floorboards that creaked and with obvious cracks. The breakfast is absolutely terrible, dry, tasteless and lacked variety. On the brighter note it is close to great restaurants and the staff are great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017 on Wotif
Excellent staff. Some things are tired and need updating