Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice people

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The staff was friendly and helpful, the room spacious and the bathtub was deep.
Cons: The room seemed overprice slightly and parking area was small and disorganized
Location: Was in the area for something at the university and it was easy to get to there from the hotel and it was also easy to access Bangor for any needs.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

As expected for a budget motel

Posted Oct 15, 2016
The room was very clean and very spacious. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Comfortable bed!! Excellent accommodations for a budget motel. Some minor issues that might be helpful to some: very poor sound insulation, we could hear our neighbours clearly, but fortunately they were very quiet. There was a bit of a "hotel smell" in the room, but as I said, everything was very clean. The toilet got clogged up, but the staff offered to immediately deal with it (it was late at night so we opted not to, and it resolved by itself in the morning.) When my daughter took a shower the water temperature was inconsistent--probably dependent on who else was using their shower. However when I took a shower later, it was great (so if you are having problems with the shower, wait a bit.) All in all, a perfect place for a short stay. Not a 5 star hotel, but you aren't paying 5 star rates either. Served our needs perfectly and we'll stay there again if we are travelling through this area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the river

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The place was quaint but very nice and the people were extremely friendly and helpful. Everything about the stay was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Akron OH

Nice hotel close to Bangor

Posted Oct 5, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at the Milford hotel. We had a nice view of the river and enjoyed watching a bald eagle every morning in the pine trees. The owner was very nice and gave us a room upgrade because of the construction on the road and gave us directions to places we might enjoy.they have a room to do laundry also. Cleaners did a good job.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from halifax

Country comfort not far from shopping

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Our second stay here loved it so much last time that we couldn't wait to go back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Hotel next to river

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff
Cons: The road in front is under reconstruction, but the motel can't be blamed for that.
Location: Off the beaten track but close enough to the things travelers need.
Our room was nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. Be aware that the property is dated and in an older area but I believe the current management is committed to updating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midcoast maine

we enjoyed our stay

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Location: There is a gas station about a mile away and Old Town across the river has everything.
A large comfortable room with a well appointed kitchen. We had a deck overlooking a river with ducks. This is an older motel, but well kept. If you require a 5 star hotel this is not for you. Great for a family on a budget.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

We'll be back to the Milford Motel on the River

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
A renovated motel with large rooms, friendly service, kitchenettes,a nice view of the river, and comfortable beds. The motel is pet friendly,as well. The owners couldn't have been nicer, and checked to make sure everything was fine.
3 out of 5
by Cindy from Nouveau-Brunswick

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
We only needed a place to stay for one night. The service was great. I asked for ice, as we had a cooler with us for our 8 days road trip, and they don't have an ice machine. But the lady at the counter brought us an ice pack and half a bag of ice of hers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick college visit

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
We needed to be close to the University of Maine, and this was our only option that had availability. It wasn't really that close, and we could have just as easily have stayed in Bangor, where there were many more options for a quick meal without another drive. Our time was limited. Overall, I was disappointed with the Orono area in terms of places to get a healthy meal, unique to the area. It seemed very limited. To be fair, we slept well, the owner was very, very nice, and the balcony with a view was lovely. The room was very clean, and I appreciated the coffee in the morning! Unfortunately the neighborhood was questionable, and having a dumpster right in the front was off-putting. That could be solved very easily with little cost. In the summer/fall, real flowers in large pots outside would also be an easy and welcoming fix. More definition for the parking is also recommended. I also felt like I would fall down the stairway to the 2nd floor, especially coming from the landing at the top - holding a suitcase and the door before descending was awkward and maybe even a little dangerous. The railings are questionable, and the openness of the stairs seems unsafe as well. Not sure how to fix that, although I'm sure a better railing would help, and a way to keep the door open at the top - maybe a stopper or a hook. With a little TLC, I think this property could be so much better.