Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset, New Jersey

PLEASANT STAY

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Location: Great diner restaurant located about half a block away. Also, Castle Craig is located about five miles away, which turned out to be wonderful.
Seems to have been renovated recently. Our stay was very pleasant and relaxing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

What you get for $74 a night.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Mattress was surprisingly comfortable.
Cons: Appearance, cleanliness, staff demeanor.
Location: Adjacent to a truck stop and a Dunkin Donuts right off the highway.
Checked in to the Econo Lodge due to close proximity to where we needed to be. The hotel called us around 7 PM to verify that we were coming and asked what time we would be there, this was impressive to me. When we arrived, the woman behind the counter barely got out of her own way to check us in and the lobby smelled old and stale. While waiting to be checked in, a trucker came in to see if there were any rooms available only to be told we took the last room, hence the verifying phone call. We went up to the room via stairs, luckily without heavy bags. Once in the room, I stripped the bed to check for bed bugs only to find burn holes in the mattress, the sheets and long dark hairs on the sheets and mattress cover but no bugs. The towels in the bathroom also had hair on them. The room was smelled of stale smoke, was outdated (although there was a flat screen tv), paint chipping off the wall, etc.
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by nicole

Stayed because it was near family

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
I traditionally stay at Marriott's but this hotel was only a mile from my sisters home in Southington. It had some recent updates like paint in the rooms but the bedspread and carpeting and the hotel overall was quite old. We checked in at night, and the cops were there. That's never a comforting feeling. But overall the stay was OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Sheets were never changed just made up had same set of sheets for the whole stay. Had a hooker roaming the back parking lot. Laundromat was nasty only one washing machine work and it stay full of clothes that guest would run off and leave. Kids was left to run wild in the hallways. The people cleaning the rooms was always arguing loudly and front desk did not know what the previous shift had done. Parking was horrible
2 out of 5
by Robert

Not a good night

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately my wife booked a smoking room by accident and there was no other rooms available, The smoking area was in the lower level, where you had to walk through an area that looked like a pipe had broke and there was mildew over the walls. It was being repaired but very unsightly. The room had burn marks all over the bedspread and blanket. At 2 in the AM someone was trying to enter our room, then a little while later they must have gotten someone from the desk to try and open the door, when we yelled that we were inside they asked what our name was......it was a terrible night. Asked the clerk about it in the morning and he said he would have to review camera footage to see what happened....we just checked out and left.
5 out of 5
by Alan

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place for the money. Lobby and hallways a bit shabby but room was clean and more than adequate...
5 out of 5
by Charles

5 stars

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great experience with staff and the room was top notch clean. Have someone at front desk at all hours in case you need something and overall just a pleasant experience
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

OMG!!!

Posted May 1, 2017
Ok, folks hang on it's going to get wierd fast!! So, I booked this place last min only because there was a movie theater next door. (Notice: please don't ever book a hotel just because there is a movie theater next door).So I walk in to the lobby, I am not even joking folks there was a Dog behind the desk to greet me!!! I didn't take a pic although I wish I should've I would've put it on this review. I should of turned away at that point but I didn't!! This was actually the second "red flag" folks the first red flag was when I first stepped in to the lobby when the overwhelming stench came out of the depths of the basement level. It's smelled like, old 1960s scent of some sort. The young lady at the desk was pleasant 5 stars for her but that hotel is in a time warp of some kind everything seems old, old carpet, old paint( quite possibly lead paint), old vending machines old everything. The second floor brought me back to my jail time days! I mean it seemed like I had walked into the second tier of my county jail. Doors closing and opening in the hall way with people chattering all night long just like in county jail. If it wasn't for the comfortable beds I would've just slept in my truck.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nope

Posted Apr 25, 2017
The sheets was so dirty. They moved us to another room