Ratings based on 133 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay before peaking Katahdin

Posted Aug 26, 2017
We wanted to peak Katahdin, and needed to get an early start, but I'm not much of a camper. This basic motel was a great place to stay the night before. It was a little less than hour from the Abol day hiker parking lot and the staff was very accommodating, allowing an 11:00 pm check-in, and a change in reservation date less than 24 hours prior.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maine

Posted Aug 24, 2017
The place smells like people still smoke inside. Our room was worn out with peeling wallpaper, The air conditioner did not work and for some reason the heat was on in the room even though the thermostats said it was off. It's condition reflects the current condition of Millinocket-and that is sad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ma

Millinocket

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We reserved a king room and was given 2 double beds. The beds were not comfortable. The wallpaper was coming off the walls. Would not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delray Beach, FL

Nice hotel near Mount Katahdin.

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Nice hotel, super helpful staff, near Mount Katadin, Knife's Edge trail is the BEST.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just drive by

Posted Aug 18, 2017
I will start off saying the staff is very nice but beyond that there is nothing nice to say about the hotel. It was disgusting and should be condemned.
2 out of 5
by Sheila

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
Not impressed. Hot tub broken. Nobody in office during normal check-in hours - had to find someone in the bar area to check-in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Freeport, Maine

Dated and Not Maintained

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The location is convenient and the staff were very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: The entire physical facility.
Location: Convenient and right on the main road. If you are a snow mobiler, there are a lot of trails near by.
The best thing that could happen to this location is that a developer would buy this building, tear it down and rebuild. It does not appear that the paint, wallpaper, artwork or furniture in the rooms have been changed or refreshed since this motel opened (probably in the early 70's). The facility has a tavern and you can bring food from the attached Chinese Restaurant to eat while you enjoy a drink (which I received a complimentary drink coupon at Check In). The rooms, though very much in need of updating, were clean. There was a complimentary continental breakfast, but the food offerings were low quality, but the coffee was fresh. The breakfast is served in what was a Hot Tub room. The smell of chlorine and mildew permeates throughout. If you have to stay in Millinocket, there are not a lot of choices, so this place will give you a location to sleep, but you may not want to make it a long stop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff but needs updating

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
PROS - the staff is great! CONS - the a/c was loud. So loud I had to turn it off to use the phone. The beds, furniture, and decor were old. The breakfast area had an unusable hot tub and you could see dirt and mold around the windows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay there again.

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
First night could not sleep as one of our neighbors blared their TV all night long
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here only as a last resort.

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
The property is poorly maintained, the carpet was worn through in several places and the room heater did not work.