Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel, wouldn’t seek iu

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Stayed at this venue for a wedding. The wedding ceremony was excellent. But the hotel was a little tired, our bed was very soft, the lighting poor, and could not get hot water to the wash basin. Food was okay, although breakfast was only just warm. The wedding meal was much better, and the staff were good, although service was a little slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eastleigh

Olde Worldy Hotel in Stony Stratford

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Quirkyness and breakfast
Cons: A liitle bit of decorating and updating..
Location: Stony Stratford is an interesting town with lots of shops and numerous pubs. Also riverside walks are a short walk away..
Given the age of the hotel every thing was fine and quieter than expected. Needs a little updating as a bit tired. Staff were very friendly and Breakfast was really good...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brackley

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2017
We had a great stay, hotel was clean with comfortable rooms, the hotel staff was very helpful, we would happily stay again the only improvement I would recommend is how the breakfast is cooked.i would only give 2/5 for breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

No time for other guests while wedding function on

Posted Sep 18, 2017
No one at reception for 20mins. Had to wade through the wedding to the bar to get attention . Kids allowed to run through the whole hotel banging doors and playing knock door run on our room. Very noisy room even tho on top floor. Had to make coffee in the wardrobe. Bed was literally falling to bits. Filthy communial tea and coffee area. Wasn't stocked up or cleaned for our whole stay. Covered in bottles and stunk of booze first thing in the morning. Shower took about 10 mims to get warm. It was so bad it was funny. Shame because perfect location and good parking.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keyned

so so

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: You can park outside in the street hassle free after 6pm and before 9am. The restaurant serves a mean steak pie and chips as pub fare.
Cons: Wifi - descale in the kettle. Dusting of the wardrobe and chest of drawers
Location: Outside the hotel Stony Stratford is pleasant small town. The Calcutta Brasserie is a stone's throw away by 5 minute walk
The room was very small and cramp. The Sky WIFI was barely available and you have to sell your soul to get access. Barely enough signal for 4G just made it bareable. Breakfast was late, keep me waiting. Veggie breakfast was rubbish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South London

Nice Hotel and good food.

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: It was very well run, and the food was good
Location: It a lovely old village, next to a modern town. but there was plenty of pubs nearby if you did not want to stay in.
the Hotel, was a good price and met my requirements, it had a really good selection menu for breakfast. Room was cleaned and tidied every day. Bar and dinning facilities were very good, as was the hospitality of all the staff.
5 out of 5
by Karen

Pleasant for an overnight stop

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel itself was lovely, am a fan of the older style and glad that the interior hadn't been made too modern. Staff we encountered were friendly and approachable. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty- brilliant to see a set vegetarian breakfast as standard on the menu. 2 issues: - There were no tea or coffee making facilities in our room, despite going past the housekeeping cupboard to see tea, biscuits and milk/sugar boxes so it is obviously a provision- forgotten or missed by our housekeeper?!! - Although free wifi was provided, my husband couldn't connect at all through it, just kept saying unable to establish connection, and mine was very slow and kept disconnecting, meaning I had to sign in about 5 times in half hour!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wallington

Dirty and tatty

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Internet search
Cons: Replace the furniture and a good clean would be a good start
The cleanliness of the hotel was shocking. Halls ways were filthy. Banisters were so dirty they were sticky. Had not been cleaned for years. Furniture in room was very old and tatty, Staff very friendly in reception and breakfast. Breakfast was good. shame about the cleanliness
3 out of 5
by neal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Hotel for day out

Posted Jul 31, 2017
On arrival was told there's a wedding and it would be noisy until 12am,No mention of this When I booked, The noise when on until 2am Room needs updating nothing special No early breakfast Paid over the stated price so not happy with it At all