Ratings based on 383 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Bad Information

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Pros: Had the heating been working we could have accepted the building work going on.
Cons: possibly doing any work referring to heating in the spring or summer, and not on one of the coldest day's in December.
Location: The location is very nice, not far from the town centre and easy access to Milton Keynes.
There was no information from either De Vere Hotels or Expedia that there was refurbishment going on, when we arrived the reception never informed us that there was no heating in the hotel at all, we were provided with a silly little electric heater that gave us no comfort whatsoever. The under manager Chris was very polite apologetic and helpful. We are an elderly couple and feel that we should have been told of the problems beforehand, we could then have booked elsewhere .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Harben House Hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Hotel is still under renovation. Room very cold as no heating in the hotel and rooms. When we went down to reception to ask about heating we were advised the room had a plug in fan heater. The heater didn't work so we had to go back and change it for another. The receptionist also said it takes a while for the hot water to come through in the shower. This room is very small considering it is a superior double.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OXF

Essential Stay

Posted Nov 4, 2017
My course was being held at this hotel so for convenience I decided to stay too. Lots of renovations going on which made it particularly cold everywhere. Heating system was broken in my room so I had a portable heater. The rooms are very basic. Noise levels not only from the building works but from constant slamming of doors was horrendous- I did ask to be moved but they were fully booked.
3 out of 5
by Rene

Under refurbishment 2017

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is undergoing Refurb. With temporary reception on a stairwell. The room had no heating so I had to ask for a heater. The shower was so loose that water was spurting everywhere from loose joints The bed was on wheels and moved every time you leant against the backboard. Overall it was ok for the price but I think visitors should be warned that the hotel is a building site
2 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by James

A work in progress

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is in development. The reception was moved to a temporary location which wasn't very convenient as my room was on the other side of the building and there was only one entrance/exit. The room itself was small with two singles (despite requesting a double) with little space to move but it was comfortable enough. The hotel has the ability to be quite a good business hotel when the refurb is finished
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bletchley park visit, Milton Keynes.

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Only booked for 1 night, room was small but comfortable enough apart from refurbishing work going on. Location is central to Newport pagnell and within easy reach for Milton Keynes.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brighton

Modern room, good parking

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Tiny bathroom, had to squeeze in. Modern decor in room but the rest of the hotel was dirty, building works in progress so dust, paint all over the carpets, gym dusty. Location and parking were good.
4 out of 5
by Stan

Harben House stay

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Decent enough place. Clean rooms and bed was ok. Service at reception was nice and friendly . Reasonably priced and just off the motorway. Looks like an office block from road but interior is modern and functional. Stayed in worse places and for an overnight stay it did what was on the tin. Lol
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

newport pagnal visit

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
hotel was spot on best we have stayed by far, plenty of parking