Ratings based on 249 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel by the beach.

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Espacios rooms with and amazing view and breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Nice hotel, awesome views.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Incredible views of the Atlantic Ocean from this hotel that has the feeling of Old(er) World. A bit isolated if you don’t drive a car. The best feeling if you just want to be alone, in the company of beautiful nature and solitude
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Great hotel in a historical spot. Heat wasn’t working in the room though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Excellent place to stay

Posted Sep 26, 2017
Pros: The staff, the food, the pub, and the location.
Location: Beautiful beaches and a nice place to stop when you're between the Ring of Kerry / Dingle Peninsula and Galway.
We had a wonderful time at the Armada! We had just driven around the Dingle Peninsula and were on our way to Galway. Perfect place for a good night's rest. The best part is the little pub, which has a great brunch and a very fun, lively atmosphere at night. We also had a very delicious meal in the restaurant; it exceeded our expectations. The staff here was exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The one little complaint I have is something that probably doesn't happen often at all; there was a couple that decided to have a very loud argument in the middle of the night in our hallway outside our room. It was probably 3 AM or so. My husband and I joke about it now, but it was quite a noisy affair at the time. In retrospect, I should have called the front desk, as the staff is super helpful. I don't think the walls are necessarily thin - I just think we got unlucky with a couple of very drunken guests arguing in an inopportune place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Road trip up wild Atlantic way to celebrate 30 yea

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is in a fantastic location and the view from the rooms is fantastic overlooking the bay. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we're rewarded with a stay in the tranquillity suite it was extremely luxurious and peaceful. We went to eat in the Johny Burke bar but it was very busy secret is to eat in there is to get there early for a seat, we moved to the main restaurant and eat from the bar menu my husband had the fish and chips and I had the burger both delicious and large portions.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

The best place in County Clare.

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Terrific hotel and location. Was here 5 years ago and love this spot.
3 out of 5
by Lina

This place has potential

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
The location is beautiful. You'll have a great view of the water and the patio and grassy area towards the back end of the property is a great place to sit and enjoy the moment. The area is quiet. Not much going on outside of the hotel and nearest town with a few more options is 10-15 mins out. Our room was a good size and looked clean, but there was a smell similar to a forgotten load of laundry in the washer. The adjacent restaurant is solid, with live music on at least the weekend evenings. The server there was fantastic, very friendly and helpful with the menu. We ate breakfast before our departure and were a bit disappointed. The dining area is very nice and the servers were quick to welcome us, but the 2 pastries we selected were both slightly underdone, the potatoes lacked spice, and the eggs were visibly runny as they sat in the buffet tray. This place has a lot of potential and there's a chance what we experienced was an off night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisiest hotel ever

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Literally the only thing going for this hotel is the location near the coast. Everything else is dreadful. There are no other facilities other than rooms and a restaurant/bar. But much more importantly there is so much noise. From other rooms; the corridors; the road; the patio.... Most of the windows do not close properly. And then every night they host the local National Door Slamming Championships. Overpriced and over-starred.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Aug 6, 2017
bathroom smelled bad of pee, hotel tried but failed to fix the problem. Breakfast was just ok, would expect more quality for the price of hotel. Dishes were all unclean, suggest hotel get a new dishwasher!
5 out of 5
by Rosa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Hotels