Ratings based on 2,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Convenient; quiet.
Cons: Upgrade the linens.
Great art deco qualities. Room was clean and well laid out. Bed linens were threadbare. Sofa sleeper was unsleepable. Bathroom was tight; move the toilet a quarter inch and the door would hit it upon opening/closing. Very quiet; excellent view of the city from our sixth floor room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very poor hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Fire alarm went off twice, had to ask for toilet paper
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surfside Bach, TX

Pretty Art Deco hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Architecture and staff
Cons: It could be a bit cleaner - I noticed un-vacuumed hair by the nightstand. Icked me out a little.
Location: This is not downtown, it is near Marquette. Do not expect to be able to walk to the lakefront.
If you like smallish historical hotels, this is darling. The brass art deco elevator doors - (manually opened) are reason enough to stay here. Quaint and stylish,everything is low key. I was traveling alone but felt safe in all parts of the hotel. I had wine and delicious truffle pomme frites in the bar and the bartender was exceptional. Ate breakfast in the dining room, and appreciated the staff who was patient and didn't mind me working at my table for as long as needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff is much better than hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The staff was amazing, but the hotel lacks basic amenities like a 24 hour snack bar or even vending machines. After the cafe closes, in the early afternoon, you can choose between your in-room wet bar or the restaurant. That's it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic Deco Hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: The beds were fabulous. Rooms are large too.
Cons: Staff and management is a little tight - not very friendly.
Location: Close to downtown. Famous "Rave" is across the street - in a rough area however
This property is special. Kennedy was here once, the Beatles stayed here. It goes back to 1927 and still has the old charm. The staff is not the most friendly but overall the experience was good. Special note: do not wander off the grounds at night as we heard a rumor that one of the other guests got mugged down the street!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Nice old-school property.

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Comfort. Free wifi. Easy parking.
Cons: In-room coffee pots could be updated.
Location: Short walk to Marquette. Otherwise longer walk or free shuttle to busier parts of downtown.
Old school doesn't mean run-down, it means a bit slower and a bit less modern-looking, but in a comfortable, marble-floors and push-door elevators way. Rooms are comfy and well appointed. Free internet. Easy in/out parking garage. For the price, you can't beat it in Milwaukee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Joliet, Il

Posted Jun 22, 2016
The Hotel was very clean, the beds were very comfortable and spacious. I loved it, and I will stay there again! My daughter is going to Marquette and the staff was very helpful with the area and any concerns I had in the area! I loved the HOTEL
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 3, 2016
We had a nice stay. Having a shuttle to downtown was a plus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Excellent!

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Pros: Very accessible.
Great service, great room, great price! Completely surpassed my expectations.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marietta, Ga

One Day Stay

Posted May 30, 2016
The hotel is historic so it appears to be old. The only gripe I had was the small bathroom and the front desk staff not so pleasant. The beds comfort was amazing and the room was spacious. Rough neighborhood that didn't seem safe to walk through at night. Good for a stay of 3 days max.