Ratings based on 2,333 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Jeffery Dahmer was here

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Nice historic place. In good condition for the age of the building.
Cons: Cost for parking
Location: Jeffery Dahmer's stomping ground
Nice room and location. Staff seemed to be pleasant enough. Negative - $20 - $30 to park daily
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Lovely Art Deco facility!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: I'm a bit of an Art Deco nut, so I loved how they've maintained that. The elevator doors are gorgeous!
Location: The hotel is just down the street from Marquette University, so it would be an excellent choice for anyone going to events there.
I was at the hotel for one night only, so did not have the opportunity to use all the facilities. I had both dinner and breakfast in the lounge and the food was quite good, though the service was a bit slow in the morning. My room was quite roomy and comfortable, with a bathrobe provided as well as the usual amenities. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. There is free Wi-Fi and reasonable parking in an enclosed structure. The only reason I gave the hotel 4 stars rather than 5 is that the restaurant was closed for remodeling; however, as noted above, the full menu was available in the lounge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2017 by Taylor, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, love the shuttle!!!

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: The free shuttle!
Location: It was only a few miles from the breweries and the ball parki.
The Ambassador Hotel is a nice, older hotel. Everyone was extremely kind and helpful. There is a FREE! shuttle that will take you to where you want to go. It took many of us to the Milwaukee Ball park and picked us up! I was unaware of the shuttle when I booked the hotel, but it was a great help to us! The room was nice, clean and comfortable. I would definitely stay again when in Milwaukee!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful old style hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, old style charm, shuttle service, location close to down town, and Miller park.
Cons: Outside looks old. I almost booked elsewhere because of the pictures on the web site.
Location: Brewery tours, and MLB baseball Milwaukee Brewers close by.
We had a very enjoyable stay. Front counter staff are very friendly, and knowledgeable. On the recommendation of hotel staff we had took in the Lakefront brewery tour that was loads of fun. Room was very spacious. King size bed and HD TV. Almost didn't want to leave the room. Thank you for an exceptional stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel right across the street from the Rave

Posted May 24, 2017
Have gone to many shows at the Rave and have always marveled at this place. Hotel is beautiful and the rooms did not disappoint! Hotel staff is excellent and took great care of us during our stay. We enjoyed room service breakfast in the morning and it was very reasonably priced and delicious. Will certainly return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice older hotel

Posted May 23, 2017
Nicely decorated older hotel in great location if you have business at Marquette University. Super helpful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wheaton IL

A nice surprise

Posted May 20, 2017
We book this at the last minute not sure what we would get. All I can say was it was a nice surprise the rooms were nicely updated in the grand old art deco hotel, well appointed and very comfortable. also a great value for the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: nice room comfortable bed great coffee downstairs
Cons: seemed ok to me
Location: great location micheal's breakfast a 2 minute walk convenience store a 30 second walk. very convenient for me
very convenient to where we had to go very comfortable good food and especially the shuttle driver Brian. he was great very accommodating got us to where we had to go and made sure we got back.Always told us where to be when we called for a ride back. never had to wait very long.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Taylor, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Nice, clean, nostalgic

Posted May 14, 2017
Clean hotel, friendly staff, great older music played reflects the environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2017 by Taylor, Hotel Management
Thank you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2017
We stayed here for a night while attending a concert at the rave. Overall the stay was great hotel staff was excellent until room service for breakfast the guy was irritable, a little rude and very rushed. And honestly the breakfast was not worth it. There's also a parking surcharge which we found unnecessary. Other then that we would come back again.