Ratings based on 1,904 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison WI

close to downtown

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: shuttle service, cafe, hospitality
Location: shuttle service from downtown at the lake front to Miller Park to the west
great hospitality everywhere in the hotel, from shuttle service to cafe
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for attending concert at the Rave

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Very convenient for attending the Kip Moore concert at the Rave. Just a walk across the street. Staff was friendly and room was nice. The restaurant and bar were very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL.

What a FANTASTIC hotel!

Posted Feb 1, 2016
I randomly came across the Ambassador Hotel -- MKE on Expedia and I am so happy that I did. We were there for a Saturday night doing various things in Milwaukee and it was in a perfect location. The hotel itself is stunning. The art deco vibe and the beautiful attention to detail makes you feel as though you are entering into a different time period. The staff was nothing short of outstanding. Each and every person was helpful and engaging. I loved our room. It has a vintage (yet ever so clean, of course) vibe to it and it did not look like every other hotel room in the world, but still kept cleanliness and comfort at the highest level. The hotel bar had great food, beer and cocktails. We walked to the Pabst Mansion (a really cool tour if you are interested) and took the FREE shuttle downtown. The shuttle was a great amenity that saves us some cab fares. I could not have been happier! As an aside, the neighborhood might be odd for someone that is not used to an urban environment. We come from Chicago so it was not a big deal at all. It is most definitely not in a business corridor or super cookie-cutter as it is when you get closer to the touristy area downtown. My husband and I loved that, but others might not be as happy. However, we always felt safe. Overall, the Ambassador was EXCELLENT and I could not recommend it more to those visiting Milwaukee! Such a gem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from NYC

Art deco hotel just outside Downtown area

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Vintage / historic charms, very friendly and attentive staff, comfortable room and bed. Easy drive to other parts of the city.
Cons: Elevator is slow, food/drink was mediocre.
Location: Next to college campus, not walking distance to much for food/drink.
Was traveling last-minute to Milwaukee for a government project and couldn't find rooms at the federal rate at the major hotels downtown. Ambassador Hotel popped up as well-reviewed and with some vintage art deco charm. It's a couple miles outside the major downtown area, next to a college campus. The hotel seemed to have very few guests there and was quiet and laid back. The front desk people were extremely friendly and room service was quick. They upgraded me to a larger room, I assume because of the low occupancy, which was massive and the bed was very comfortable. The Wi-Fi worked decently when I needed it at night. I appreciated having a coffee shop downstairs where I could grab a quick coffee before meetings. The one downside was that my attempt to order a "classic cocktail" resulted in a watery and mediocre Manhattan. The hotel has some great art deco charm that I enjoyed a lot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Close to the Rave

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The tax on the drinks in the Mini Fridge
Location: Its a nice location
It was easy to check in the hotel was clean and responsible on who was let in after a certain time
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terribly disappointing experience.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
There is a concert venue across the street and the hotel was sold out and overrun with dirtbag kids in their late teens / early 20's. They pretty much ran wild and partied loudly the entire night with nothing done by management to control the situation or keep noise levels down. We will never stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

the hotel was very clean and the staff was very f

Posted Jan 20, 2016
the hotel wasvery clean and the saff was very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Excellent Staff

Posted Jan 18, 2016
This was our second time staying here and we definitely will be back. The room is spacious and clean and I couldn't say enough about the staff, everyone we met was excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Beautiful place. Wonderful staff. Decor is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G., Milwaukee

Great place in the city!

Posted Jan 17, 2016
It was comfortable. It was classy. It is everything an Art Deco hotel should be.