Ratings based on 2,278 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel EXCEPT for Pet Friendly.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Ambassador Hotel is very nice except for Pet Friendly policy I was unaware of. Dog barked both nights so I didn't sleep well and the Hotel was packed with Basketball fans and people for St. Patrick's Day; so transfer not available. Other wise Shuttle Service and Food is good and room size is fine, Jim S. stayed March 2017.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Volleyball Tournament

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff and the shuttle was awesome!!
Cons: Don't charge for some of the extras
Location: You name it, it's near by and if not the shuttle will take you there.
Beautiful hotel! Loved that they kept much of the 1920's in their updated look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old school but in a good way.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Vintage look.
Cons: Staff could be more friendly. Pizza I ordered for room service was NOT good.
Location: Great location. If you want to know what to do nearby, look it up.
Good stay. Fun throwback hotel. Staff was not all that friendly or knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

St. Patrick's Day and NCAA Weekend

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: We found the beds to be extremely comfortable, the lounge was fun and open until 2:00, the staff was helpful, and the free shuttle was great!
Cons: There wasn't anything we were unhappy about.
Location: University of Marquette is right next door, and downtown Milwaukee is close. Katie's Diner and Sobelman's were nice stops for breakfast and lunch.
My daughter and I were in Milwaukee visiting my son for St. Patrick's Day and to take in two NCAA games at the Bradley Center. We saw Wisconsin advance in the NCAA tournament at Major Goolsby's, which was a fun experience. We had never stayed at the Ambassador before, and both of us would definitely return! The lobby is beautiful with a real retro feeling to it, the elevators were unique, and the rooms were large and comfortable. If you are looking for a hotel that does not seem like it is part of a large chain, then this is the place for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Beautiful Art Deco 1920s decor.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The free shuttle was great
Location: The hotel was close to downtown, museums and entertainment districts.
We enjoyed our stay here during the NCAA basketball tournament. I chosen it on Expedia due to it's price and location and was very pleased. We had the free shuttle run us all over town to the games and to various museums and pubs. The restaurant was excellent and reasonable. The bar was like a step back to the roaring 20s. The rooms and common areas were clean and well kept.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wi, WI

Nice historic hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great historic hotel with old world feel. Updated amenities made it feel clean and comfy. Parking was $20 a night, which was not a pleasant surprise. Only an elevator to go up, stairs are locked on main floor. Can take stairs down though. Would be good for a couple who are looking for a swanky weekend away. Road noise was a bit annoying for this light sleeper. Just turned the furnace fan on though and it drowned it out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

full service hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Everything is easy. Large rooms, two sinks, comfortable and clean, and a very nice breakfast cafe, and the shuttle service.
Cons: The shuttle driver began bad mouthing some political issues and officials. We got into it. The return trip we spoke of grandchildren - much better.
Location: two miles from Miller Park, and in the other direction downtown and the lake.
We stayed overnight to attend the Milwaukee REP production of The Glass Menagerie and enjoyed a fun and relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Really neat hotel.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Really neat hotel. Decor was so cool! Room was comfortable and clean. The free shuttle service was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Nice place! Room was awesome! Didn't like the parking situation but ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pearl Lake, WI

Easy access to everything Milwaukee had to offer

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Great historical building on the fringe of downtown makes it easy to get around to everything there is to do. Complimentary shuttle to restaurants and more. Very nicely updated and super comfy bed. My girlfriend wanted to take it home! Would definitely stay here next time in Milwaukee.